Traditional demarcation of Borno State

Evaluating Foreign Investment Risk in Borno State, Northeast, Nigeria

Last updated on February 8th, 2019 at 10:47 am

There are three geo-political zones in Borno State, Northeast, Nigeria. Let’s take a look at traditional demarcation of Borno State.

Borno State is one of the North Eastern states Nigeria created in February 3, 1976. The state has ethnic groups like Kanuri, Babur, Marghi, and Shuwa.

The state is dominated by Muslims.

However, Borno State is traditionally demarcated into three geo-political zones. These traditional demarcations house the total number of 27 Local Government Councils in the state:

The three geo-political zones and their council areas  are:

  • Borno North has 10 LGAs
  • Borno South houses 9 LGAs
  • Borno Central contains 8 council areas
  • Borno North: Abadam, Gubio, Guzamala, Kaga, Kukawa, Magumeri, Marte, Mobbar, Monguno, Nganzai
  • Borno South: Askira/Uba, Bayo, Biu, Chibok, Damboa, Gwoza, Hawul, Kwaya Kusar, Shani
  • Borno Central: Bama, Dikwa, Jere, Kala/Balge, Kaga, Konduga, Mafa, Maiduguri, Ngala
  • We shall look at the business risk in each of the local governments in Chapter 3.


Read Also:  Borno State: History and Past Governors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Protection Status Positive SSL