Osun 2018: Aregbesola declares April 16 Voters’ Registration Holiday

Osun 2018: Aregbesola declares April 16 Voters’ Registration Holiday

#Osun2018 | #2019GeneralElections

Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State has declared Monday, April 16, 2018, as a work free day to enable workers register for the ongoing voters’ registration exercise.

The ongoing Continuous Voters Registration (CVR) exercise is being undertaken by electoral body, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The exercise is also to enable registered voters collect their Permanent Voter’s Card (PVC) in order to partake in the Osun 2018 Governorship Election, and the 2019 General Elections.

It would be recalled that the Independent National Electoral Commission commenced a nationwide continuous voter registration on April 27, 2017, across the 774 local government areas of the federation.

Mr. Aregbesola, who came to power in November 27, 2010, is seen as the most powerful political calculator in the state.

Osun 2018 Governorship Election and opposition

It is believed that the governor has technically defeated opposition parties in a state, whose economic strength lies on salaries of civil servants.

The major opposition party PDP in the state is currently battling with a huge internal crisis, thereby giving Aregbesola’s party and his anointed candidate in the election an upper hand.

Though, he has been paying civil servants in the state half salary more than two years, his infrastructural development has never been witnessed since the creation of Osun in 1996.

Read Also:  Invasion of National Assembly, embarrassment to Nigeria-Buhari

Civil servants in the state are praying and threatening not to voter his preferred candidate or his party (APC) in the incoming election, saying such successor might continue with the anti-civil servants policy put in place by the engineer.

Civil servants here rarely vote during election. Most of them only monitor elections on voting day via their electronic gadgets.

The body language of the governor is favourably swinging towards an Iragbiji indigenes, Mr. Oyetola, his current chief of staff.

Oyetola is a soft-spoken ma, but highly principled and principled brilliant tax expert.

At the time of publishing, there’s no strong opposition candidate who could threaten the victory of the ruling party later in year in the governorship election.

Who is Aregbesola?

Called Ogbeni, Rauf Aregbesola assumption of office in 2010 was historic as an Appeal Court on 26 November 2010 declared him the winner, bringing to an end the regime of Mr. Olagunsoye Oyinlola, a former military administrator.

He was the Lagos Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure before he ran for election in April 2007 on the Action Congress platform.

Action Congress later metamorphosised to APC.

Justices of the Federal Appeal Court, Ibadan finally declared Aregbesola the winner of the 2007 election, ordering that he be sworn in as governor by noon on 27 November 2010.

Read Also:  VIDEO: Fayemi casts his vote at Isan as Ekiti Decides

His push for the victory of his preferred candidate will make the governorship election in the state more interesting.

Leave a Comment

DMCA.com Protection Status