Local Government Areas in Abia State and Their Population Figure

Last updated on February 15th, 2023 at 09:24 am


Abia was among the states that were created on August 27, 1991, by the military regime of Gen. Ibrahim Babangida.

The commercial capital of Abia state is Aba, the state’s industrial city while the administrative capital is Umuahia.

It is one of the five states under the southeast geopolitical zone of Nigeria. Abia has 17 Local Government Areas.


Each of the local government areas of Abia has political wards. The LGA is headed by an elected (or selected) chairman who is the chief executive officer of the council area assisted by the Vice-Chairman, Secretary, and the heads of departments.

Administrative headquarters of the LGA

The administrative headquarters of the local government area is situated in one of the major towns of the council area.

Abia LGAs and Their Headquarters

Below are the 17 local government areas in Abia State as listed in the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended):

Aba North

Aba North covers 23 km2 (9 sq mi) land area and has its headquarters at Eziama Urata. It uses the postal prefix 450. The council is within the city of Aba.

Aba South

Aba South has its administrative headquarters at Aba, the state’s commercial city, covering 89 km2 (34 sq mi) land area

Isiala Ngwa North

With its headquarters located in Okpuala- Ngwa, Isiala Ngwa North has produced many industrious sons and daughters among whom are Nigeria’s indigenous Speaker of the House of Representatives Jaja Wachuku during the first republic and former Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Paul Ogwuma.

Also Read:  Full List: Latest Subscription Fees for DStv Packages 2024

Paul whose tenure was controversial as the CBN governor during the military junta of Late Sani Abacha was also the Managing Director of Union Bank before his appointment.

Isiala Ngwa South

The council area has its headquarters in Omoba, the town which houses the sub-power station, one of the projects of the National Integrated Power Project (NIPP). Isiala Ngwa South has an area of 258 km2.

Ukwa West

Oke Ikpe is the headquarters of Ukwa West local government area of Abia. It sits on 105 sq mi (271 km2) of land area.

Ukwa West LGA shares boundaries with three other council areas in Abia while it also shares boundaries with Rivers State.

Ukwa East

With its headquarters in Akwete, Ukwa East Local Government Area has an area of 280 km2. It shares boundaries with Akwa Ibom and Rivers states

Obingwa LGA

Obingwa has its headquarters in Mgboko, one of the major towns in the area. It covers 153 sq mi (395 km2).

Some of the major towns in Obingwa include Abala-Ibeme, Mgboko, Ohanze, and Abayi Okoroato among others.


Isiala Oboro is the headquarters of Ikwuano Local Government Area, The council area was created by Gen. Babangida on the announcement of the creation of Abia. It has an area of 281 km2 with over 50 towns and villages.

Bende LGA

Bende council area has its headquarters in Bende Community. The LGA has an area of 590.8 km². Bende LGA has produced many prominent sons and daughters, they include the former Governor of Abia State and now a Senator representing Abia North, Chief Orji Uzor Kalu; the “lion woman” and super brilliant and smart Aruma Oteh, the former DG of Nigeria’s Security Exchange Commission (SEC).


Arochukwu Local Government Area is one of the most popular council areas in Nigeria: one, because of the colonial history that surrounds the town; two, because of many historic and tourists sites in the city including Ibini Ukpabi shrine and the slave routes; three, because it’s the third-largest local government area in Abia state.

Also Read:  The documents you need to correct your NIN Data on the NIMC Self-Service Portal

It is also the food basket of Abia where most of the staple foods are produced. They are famous for farming, strong and resilient.

The headquarters of the council area is Arochukwu town.


Apart from producing more than 10 prominent persons who are popular around the world, Ohafia local government has its headquarters in Ohafia town.

Ohafia town is popular for its rich cultural and traditional festivals.

The LGA houses one of the third largest military base in Nigeria, “Goodluck Jonathan Barracks”.

Ogbugo Kalu, a former army officer who served in both the Nigerian Army and Biafran Army

Prominent sons of Ohafia include Prof. Eni Njoku, the first professor of botany in Nigeria. He is also the first black vice-chancellor of the University of Lagos and the University of Nigeria Nsukka;

Others include Kalu Idika Kalu, a former minister who managed three different ministries; Chief Ojo Maduekwe, a former minister who also managed three different ministries during his lifetime between 1999 to 2010; Ruggedman, Afro-rap artiste; J. Martins, Afro-pop artiste; Ebitu Ukiwe, a former military officer of Lagos and Niger States and VP to IBB and Ike Nwachukwu, military officer among others


Isuikwuato is a local government area and also the headquarters of the council area.

Some of the resources that can be found in Isuikwuato include kaolin and iron ore and kaolin.

Some of the prominent people from the town and local government area include the former Nigerian Army Chief of Army Staff, Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika; the former military governor of Imo and Lagos States Rear Admiral Ndubuisi Kanu; and Nigerian standup comedian and entertainer Bright Okpocha aka Basketmouth among others.

Also Read:  5 Types of Band Classifications in Nigeria's Power Sector (A, B, C, D, and E)

Umuahia North

Umuahia North Local Government Area headquarters are in the city of Umuahia and cover land area of 245 km2.

Some of the popular towns and villages under the LGA include Umuekwule, Umuagu, Umukabia, Ihite Ude, and Umuahia

Umuahia South

Umuahia South has its headquarters in Apumiri in Ubakala with a land area of 140 km2 


Covering land area of 108 km2 is Ugwunagbo LGA. The major job of the people of the LGA is farming including products like maize, corn, yam, palm oil, and cocoa.

Some of its popular towns include Ihie, Obegu, Ngwayiekwe, Asa-Umunka, and Ihie.

Osisioma Ngwa

Apart from being one of the industrialised LGA in Abia State, Osisioma Ngwa is a Local Government Area that also has a rich cultural heritage covering land area of198 km2


Umunneochi is officially known as “Nneochi” local government area in Abia State. Some of the major towns and villages in Nneochi are Leru, Ngodoukwu, Amuda, Umuelem, and Ndiawa, among others.

Population of LGA in Abia State

The population of council areas in Abi State is based on the 2006 National Population Commission (NPC), except for the population of Isuikwuato LGA which is based on the 2016 estimate.

It’s a known fact that the number of people living in these areas has grown rapidly, but it’s difficult to bandied figures without statistics from the appropriate authority.

However, the population of some towns in Nigeria grow by between 1% to 2% per year.

Abia State LGAPopulationLand Area
Aba North107,48823 km2
Aba South423,85289 km2
Isiala Ngwa North153,734109 sq mi
Isiala Ngwa South134,762100 sq mi 
Ukwa West88,555105 sq mi
Ukwa East83,865110 sq mi
Obingwa181,439153 sq mi
Ikwuano137,993108 sq mi
Bende192,621590.8 km²
Arochukwu193,820202 sq mi 
Ohafia234,700 438.2 km²
Isuikwuato151,700374.8 km² 
Umuahia North100,660100 km2
Umuahia South138,570140 km2
Ugwunagbo97,710108 km2
Osisioma Ngwa219,632198 km2
UmuNnochi163,928368 km2


With 17 Local Government Areas in God’s Own State, Abia has lots of investment opportunities that are spread across the council areas.


  • Featured image by Abia State Government
  • Government of Abia State. “Local Government”. abiastate.gov.ng

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top