Past Ministers of the Federal Capital Territory in Nigeria From 1976 Till Date

What Nigeria Has Become Under Buhar...
What Nigeria Has Become Under Buhari - PDP Governors

Last updated on November 23rd, 2021 at 01:58 pm

Since the official creation of a “ministry” dedicated to the management and administration of Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory (FCT), political appointees were appointed by the ruling government for the proper management of the FCT.

Lagos, Nigeria’s commercial city was Nigeria’s FCT until the idea that Abuja was the centre came up in the late 1970s by the military regime of Gen Murtala Muhammed. Since then, the development of Abuja began.

While the regime of Gen Olusegun Obasanjo continued with some of the policies of his late boss and began the development of Abuja, Shehu Shagari, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari, allocated several millions of Naira (as at then) towards the development of the new FCT, which would later be known as the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA), it was Gen. Ibrahim Babandiga that took the bold move to officially moved FCT from Lagos to Abuja on December 12, 1991.

Past FCT Ministers in Nigeria

Since 1976 till date, below are the ministers who were appointed to oversee the administration of the FCT:

FCT Ministers Years in Office Location
Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun 1976 to 1979 Lagos
John Jatau Kadiya 1979 to 1982 Lagos
Iro Abubakar Dan Musa 1982 to 1983 Lagos
Haliru Dantoro 1983 to December 1983 Lagos
Mamman Jiya Vatsa 1984 to December 1985 Lagos
Hamza Abdullahi 1986 to 1989 Lagos
Gado Nasko 1989 to December 11, 1991 Lagos
Gado Nasko 1991 to 1993 Abuja
Jeremiah Timbut Useni 1993 to 1998 Abuja
Mamman Kontagora 1998 to 1999 Abuja
Ibrahim Bunu 1999 to 2001 Abuja
Mohammed Abba Gana February 8, 2001 to July 17, 2003 Abuja
Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai July 17, 2003 to July 27, 2007 Abuja
Aliyu Modibbo Umar July 27, 2007 to October 29, 2008 Abuja
Muhammadu Adamu Aliero December 17, 2008 to April 8, 2010 Abuja
Bala Mohammed April 8, 2010 to  May 29, 2015 Abuja
Mohammed Musa Bello November 17, 2015, till date Abuja
Also Read:  List of 67 Illegitimate Universities in Nigeria And Their Locations

Out of the aforementioned ministers, it was only Lieutenant General Muhammad Gado Nasko, a former military governor of Sokoto State, who “ruled” as the minister of FCT in Lagos and as the FCT minister when it was moved to Abuja.

Gado Nasko undertook many projects in Abuja before the official relocation.

Mohammed Musa Bello is the incumbent FCT minister, he’s a son to Buhari’s long-time friend.

FCT Minister in Nigeria is like a state governor


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top