history of state creations in nigeria from 1967 till date

History of Bauchi State and Governors from 1976 Till Date

Last updated on November 24th, 2021 at 08:24 pm


Bauchi State is one of the 36 states in Nigeria and is located in the Northern part of the country. It is usually referred to as Bauchi State so as to distinguish it from the city of Bauchi – which is the capital of the State.

Nicknamed the “Pearl of Tourism”, Bauchi State was established on the 3rd of February, 1976, and currently has over 5 million people inhabiting the region.

It is home to the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University – which is situated in the city of Bauchi. It also boasts of various other educational institutions including the Bauchi State University and Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi.



The region used to be part of the then North-Eastern State of Nigeria until it became a State in 1976 – making her one of the oldest states in Nigeria.

A lot of changes have however happened over the years as far as Bauchi State is concerned. For instance, the Ajawa Language used to be the predominant language being used for communication in the region – but it has been replaced with Hausa.

When Bauchi State was founded in 1976, it was comprised of both present Bauchi State and Gombe States. However, in 1997, Gombe State was carved out of Bauchi State and became a State of its own. In 2001, the State chose to adopt the Islamic Sharia law.

 How Her Name Was Derived

The Bauchi Emirate was founded around 1800, and the first traditional ruler was a man simply known as Yakubu.

Also Read:  Elected State Governors in Nigeria During Babangida Regime (1992-1993)

However, according to stories, a hunter had first come to settle in the region before the arrival of Yakubu – and he is known as Baushe.

Bauchi in Hausa means ‘the land of freedom and tourism.’ According to history, the State, alongside Adamawa State, were the major sources of freedom and tourism for the then Fulani Empire of Sokoto.

Local Government Areas

One of the major transformations in the State since the time of her creation is the changes in the number of her Local Government Areas. Presently, the State consists of twenty (20) Local Government Areas (LGAs), and they are:

  • Bauchi
  • Tafawa Balewa
  • Dass
  • Toro
  • Bogoro
  • Ningi
  • Warji
  • Ganjuwa
  • Kirfi
  • Alkaleri
  •  Darazo
  •  Misau
  • Giade
  •  Shira
  • Jama’are
  • Katagum
  • Itas/Gadau
  • Zaki
  • Gamawa
  •  Damban


Bauchi State is neighbor to the likes of Kano and Jigawa States (both to the north), Taraba and Plateau States (both to the south), Gombe and Yobe (both to the east) as well as Kaduna (to the west)

Bauchi State is indeed a dynamic state as far as geography is concerned. The northern part of the State is sandy, while the southwestern part is mountainous.

As for rainfall, it ranges between 1,300 millimetres each year in the south and only 700 millimetres each year in the extreme north. Of course, this pattern is not unique to just Bauchi State, but is a popular trend in the West Africa sub-region as a whole.

The Southern region of the State welcomes the Rain earlier before the northern part. In the southern part, it rains very heavily and they lasts longer. But in the other part, the rain comes later – usually around June or July.

Also Read:  National Identity Card Registration Centres In Jigawa State

Generally, the weather in the southern and the northern parts is not the same. In the southern part of the State, during the early period of the rainy season, it is humidly hot and it lingers up to the Northern part.

In addition to rainfall, it enjoys water from some rivers – including the Gongola and Jama’are rivers.


There are over 50 tribal groups in the State. However, the major ones are:

  • Gerawa
  • Sayawa
  • Jarawa
  • Kirfawa
  • Turawa Bolewa
  • Karekare
  • Kanuri
  •  Fa’awa
  •  Butawa
  • Warjawa
  • Zulawa
  • Boyawa MBadawa
  • Hausa
  • Fulani

So, they have backgrounds, beliefs, and various other things that form part of the existence of those inhabiting the State.

However, there are various similarities in terms of their cultural practices, festivals, and dressing. There is a high level of ethnic interaction especially in marriage existence amongst the people.

List of Past and Incumbent Governors of Bauchi State

Here a full list of military administrators and civilian governors who have governed Bauchi state since its creation February 3, 1976. The state was created by military regime of Gen. Murtala Muhammed

Name Years in office Remark
Mohammad Bello Khaliel March 1976 to July 1978 He was the first military administrator of the state
Garba Duba July 1978 to October 1979 Military administrator
Abubakar Tatari Ali October 1979 to December 1983 Abubakar Tatari Ali was the first executive governor of Bauchi state. He contested and won election under the National Party of Nigeria (PNP). He won election for a second term until Muhammadu Buhari and his gang overthrew the civilian government.
Mohammed Sani Sami January 1984 to August 1985 Military administrator. Sani Sami was appointed by Buhari military junta
Chris Abutu Garuba August 1985 to December 1987 Military administrator
Joshua Madaki December 1987 to August 1990 Military administrator
Abu Ali August 1990 to January 1992 Military governor
Dahiru Mohammed January 1992 to November 1993 Dahiru Mohammed won election under the National Republican Convention (NRC) of the aborted third republic under the regime of Ibrahim Babdamosi Babangida
James Kalau December 9, 1993 to September 14, 1994 Military governor
Rasheed Adisa Raji September 14, 1994 to August 22, 1996 Military governor
Theophilus Bamigboye August 22, 1996 to August 1998 Military administrator
Abdul Mshelia August 1998 to May 1999 Abdul Mshelia was the last military administrator in Bauchi state. He handed over power to the newly elected governor of the state.
Ahmad Adamu Mu’azu May 29, 1999 to May 29, 2007 The eloquent Adamu Mu’azu was the third civilian governor in Bauchi, he won election under the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP)
Malam Isa Yuguda May 29, 2007 to May 29, 2015 Yuguda won his election under the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP). He decamped to PDP 27 June 2009 under which he won a re-election
M. A. Abubakar May 29, 2015 to May 29, 2019 Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar ruled the state for a single term. He contested for a second term but lost to the former Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT). M.A Abubakar was a member of All Progressive Congress (APC)
Sen.Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed May 29, 2019 to date Bala Mohammed who was once a senator before he was appointed as the FCT Minister by the government of Goodluck Jonathan. Bala Mohammed was the first democratically elected governor of Bauchi state to unseat an incumbent governor. He won an election under PDP
Also Read:  NIN Enrolment Centres In UAE



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top