trading, blockchain, cryptocurrency-6531134.jpg

Coinbase Supported Countries in Africa

Last updated on January 25th, 2023 at 07:10 pm


There are 13 African countries that can use Coinbase for cryptocurrency trading, though they have varied trading capabilities.

For instance, crypto buyers and seller in Ghana can convert their digital coins on coinbase. Ghanaian, South African, and Kenyan crypto buyers can use their debit and credit cards to make crypto purchases.

Are you an African and you’ve been wondering if you can buy Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Ripple, and other cryptocurrencies on coinbase? This post contains the list of African countries that are supported by the world’s second-largest crypto exchange platform.


Why is coinbase growing in number?

Since coinbase was founded on June 20, 2012, by Brian Armstrong and Fred Ehrsam, the crypto exchange platform has grown to be one of the most trusted and reliable cryptocurrency exchanges which can be found in all the continents, except Antarctica, probably waiting for when there is a human presence in the lonely continent.

Some of the reasons why coinbase remains one of the best crypto exchanges include the offline storage of most of its assets, usage of 2-step verification and blocking of accounts for the safety of its users whenever there is suspicious login, and its crypto insurance coverage on all assets in its care.

Coinbase in Africa

Of all the countries in Africa, coinbase only supports the trading of crypto assets on its platform in 13 African countries.

Also Read:  16 Easy Steps to Buy Cryptocurrency in Nigeria Without CBN Sanctions

Out of the supported African countries, using debit and credit cards is only supported in three countries: Ghana, Kenya, and South Africa.

South Africa’s favourable crypto policy, may have prompted Coinbase to choose second Africa’s largest economy as one of the supported countries, though the country is still planning to come up with an acceptable legal framework for crypto assets.

Is Coinbase available in Africa?

The African countries listed below can trade on coinbase

CountryTrading capability
Ghanaconvert and buy with debit and credit cards
Benin RepublicConvert
South AfricaConvert and buy crypto with debit/credit cards
Kenya Ability to use debit/credit cards and convert
Tunisia Convert

African countries not supported on Coinbase

The crypto exchange platform is not supported in 41 African countries, they are:

  1. Ethiopia
  2. Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
  3. Egypt
  4. Tanzania
  5. Algeria
  6. Sudan
  7. Morocco
  8. Madagascar
  9. Mozambique
  10. Ivory Coast
  11. Niger Republic
  12. Mali
  13. Malawi
  14. Burkina Faso
  15. Chad
  16. Somalia
  17. Zimbabwe
  18. Senegal
  19. South Sudan
  20. Guinea
  21. Burundi
  22. Sierra Leone
  23. Togo
  24. Libya
  25. Republic of Congo
  26. Liberia
  27. Central African Republic
  28. Mauritania
  29. Eritrea
  30. The Gambia
  31. Gabon
  32. Lesotho
  33. Guinea Bissau
  34. Equatorial Guinea
  35. Eswatini
  36. Djibouti
  37. Comoros
  38. Cape Verde
  39. Sao Tome and Principe
  40. Seychelles
  41. Nigeria

If you are a Nigerian resident, you can’t trade crypto on coinbase.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top