Ministers of Foreign Affairs in Nigeria from 1961 to Date

Last updated on January 25th, 2023 at 08:15 pm

Since the establishment of Nigeria’s Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1961, the ministry which maintains, supervises, and coordinates Nigeria’s relations with other countries has produced 28 ministers.

On the assumption, the ministry is named as Foreign Affairs and Commonwealth Relations. By the government of Tafawa Balewa, the Prime Minister at the time. And Jaja Wachuku became head of the first foreign affairs ministry

Roles of the Foreign Affairs Minister

1) To oversee the management of Nigeria’s diplomatic missions and consulates.

2) To implement foreign policies

3) To maintain relations with other countries

4) To protect the interest of Nigeria and its people in foreign countries

5) To coordinate foreign policy of Nigeria.

6) To maintain Nigeria’s relations with international organisations

Past and Present Minister of Foreign Affairs in Nigeria

Nigeria’s Foreign MinisterYears in Office
Geoffrey Onyeama2015 till date
Aminu Bashir Wali2014-2015
Viola Onwuliri2013-2014
Olugbenga Ashiru2011-2013
Henry Odein Ajumogobia2010-2011
Martin Ihoeghian Uhomoibhi2010
Ojo Maduekwe2007-2010
Joy Ogwu2006-2007
Ngozi Okonjo-IwealaJune 21, 2006 to August 30, 2006
Oluyemi Adeniji2003-2006
Sule Lamido1999 to 2003
Ignatius Olisemeka1998 to 1999
Tom Ikimi1995 to 1998
Babagana Kingibe1993 to 1995
Matthew MbuJanuary to November 1993
Ike Nwachukwu1990 to 1993
Rilwan Lukman1989 to 1990
Ike Nwachukwu1987 to 1989
Bolaji Akinyemi1985 to 1987
Ibrahim Gambari1984 to 1985
Emeka Anyaoku1983
Ishaya Audu1979 to 1983
Henry Adefope1978 to 1979
Joseph Nanven Garba1975 to 1978
Arikpo Okoi1967 to 1975
Yakubu Gowon1966 to 1967
Nuhu Bamalli1965 to 1966
Jaja Wachuku1961 to 1965

Of all the former ministers, Prof Bolaji Akinyemi, Anyaoku, and Sule Lamido were exceptional as Nigeria’s foreign policies were clearly spelt out.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.