state governors 2007-2001-Sule-Lamido

State Governors in Nigeria Between 2007 to 2011


Elected state governors who came to power on May 29, 1999, and won their second term bid left office on May 29, 2007, by handing over to their successors.

The only ones that that returned were those that unseat the incumbent in 2003, for instance, Gbenga Daniel of Ogun state and Olagunsoye Oyinlola of Osun state (he later had his election overturned by the court).

Interestingly, it was a time when the two major political parties AC and ANPP underwent restructuring.


During the period, Ali Modu Sheriff, one of the governors who won election in 2003 returned for a second term. There were more first-term governors than returning governors during this time.


Who were the state governors in Nigeria between 2007 to 2011?

StateGovernorDate of Assumption of officePolitical Party
AbiaTheodore OrjiMay 29, 2007PDP
AnambraPeter Obi March 17, 2006, after the court nullified the election of Chris Ngige of PDPAPGA
AdamawaMurtala NyakoMay 29, 2007. His election was nullified in February 2008 by the Election Petition Appeal Tribunal. In a new election, he won again and assumed office again on April 29, 2008
Akwa IbomGodswill AkpabioMay 29, 2007PDP
BornoAli Modu SheriffMay 29, 2003. Second termANPP
BauchiIsa YugudaMay 29, 2007 (First term)ANPP
BayelsaTimipre SylvaMay 29, 2007. Election nullification on April 15, 2008, but he was reelected 24 May 2008PDP
BenueGabriel SuswamMay 29, 2007PDP
Cross RiverLiyel ImokeMay 29, 2007PDP
DeltaEmmanuel UduaghanMay 29, 2007. His election was annulled on November 9, 2010, but reelected on January 6, 2011PDP
EkitiOlusegun Oni
Kayode Fayemi
Segun Oni ruled from May 29, 2007, till October 15, 2010, when his election was nullified.
Fayemi ruled from October 15, 2010, till 2014
EdoOserheimen Osunbor
Adams Oshiomle
Osunbor assumed office on May 29, 2007, till March 20, 2008
Oshiomle Assumed office on March 20, 2008
EnuguSullivan ChimeMay 29, 2007 (first term)PDP
EbonyiMartin ElechiMay 29, 2007 (first term)PDP
GombeMohammed Danjuma GojeMay 29, 2003 (on a second term)PDP
JigawaSule LamidoMay 29, 2007 (first term)PDP
ImoIkedi OhakimMay 29, 2007 PPA to PDP
KadunaNamadi Sambo
Patrick Ibrahim Yakowa
May 29, 2007, was appointed Vice President on May 19, 2010 by Goodluck Jonathan. Jonathan had assumed office as the president following the death of his boss Umar Yar’Adua on May 5, 2010
Yakowa (deputy governor) assumed office on May 20, 2010
KatsinaIbrahim ShemaMay 29, 2007 (first term)PDP
KebbiUsman Saidu Nasamu DakingariMay 29, 2007PDP
KanoIbrahim ShekarauMay 29, 2003 (ruled for 8 years)ANPP
KwaraBukola SarakiMay 29, 2003 (he ruled for 8 years)PDP
KogiIbrahim IdrisMay 29, 2003 (on a second term)PDP
LagosBabatunde FasholaMay 29, 2007 (first term)AC
NasarawaAliyu DomaMay 29, 2007 (first term)PDP
NigerMu’azu Babangida AliyuMay 29, 2007 (first term)PDP
OgunGbenga DanielMay 29, 2003 (on a second term)PDP
OsunOlagunsoye Oyinlola
Rauf Aregbesola
May 29, 2003, till November 26, 2010. His election was nullified
Aregbesola assumed office on November 26, 2010
OndoOlusegun Agagu
Olusegun Mimiko
Agagu was in office from May 29, 2003, till February 23, 2009 (His election was annulled)
Mimiko took over from February 23, 2009
OyoChristopher Alao-AkalaMay 29, 2007PDP
PlateauJonah David JangMay 29, 2007PDP
RiversCelestine Omehia
Rotimi Amaechi
Omehia (May 29, 2007, till October 25, 2007), the court nullified his election as not being the legitimate PDP canididate
Amaechi (October 25, 2007)
SokotoAliyu WamakkoMay 29, 2007PDP
TarabaDanbaba SuntaiMay 29, 2007PDP
YobeMamman Bello Ali
Ibrahim Gaidam
May 29, 2007, to January 26, 2009 (died in office)
January 26, 2009 (he was deputy but was sworn in after the death of his boss)
ZamfaraMahmud ShinkafiANPP to PDP
Nigerian state governors in 2007

Since Nigeria returned to democratic rule, the country experienced the highest number of state governorship elections that were overturned by the court.

Also Read:  Past and Current Director of SCUML


Featured image by The Whistler

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top