Sullivan Chime former governor

State Governors in Nigeria Between 2011 to 2015


During the 2011 general elections that ushered another set of governors across the country, there was no governorship election in 10 out of 36 states because of earlier cases in the affected states leading into staggered elections.

As such, only 26 states participated in the April 2011 governorship election while 10 other states continue to complete their term.

Even with the violence that characterised the election in some parts of Nigeria, election results were declared with mostly favoured the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the time.


Before the 2011 elections, the major opposition party had undergone another reformation, leading to change of name from AD to AC then to the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN).

While election had earlier been held in some states, it should be noted that between 2011 to 2015, the ACN were in control of 6 states, ANPP was in charge of three states including Borno, Yobe, and Zamfara

The ruling party PDP which also produced Goodluck Jonathan as president was in charge of 23.

All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) which has its stronghold in the southeast geopolitical zone controlled Imo and Anambra states.

Congress for Progressive Change under which Muhammadu Buhari contested as a presidential candidate won in Nasarawa. It’s was called Buhari’s party.

The period under review saw Olusegun Mimiko of Labour Party (LP), a former minister, who had kicked out Olusegun Mimiko on February 24, 2009, through a lawsuit was in charge of Ondo State.

Also Read:  Gemstone and Other Solid Mineral Resources in Benue State

The election in Adamawa state was the most controversial between 20111 to 2015 as Nyako was unceremoniously impeached from office on July 15 Jul 2014. Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri (PDP) was the acting Governor between July 15, 2014, to October 1, 2014

By October 1, 2014, Bala James Ngilari (PDP) assumed office till May 29, 20015

Below is a list of state governors in Nigeria between 2011 to 2015

StateGovernorsCommentPolitical platform
AbiaTheodore OrjiSecond termPDP
AdamawaMurtala NyakoHe was elected after April 2007 election was nullifiedPDP
AnambraPeter ObiOn his second term after the February 6, 2010 election in the stateAPGA
Akwa IbomGodswill AkpabioSecond termPDP
BayelsaSeriake DicksonHe was reelected on May 24, 2008, after the nullification of the April 2007 electionPDP
BauchiIsa YudgudaReelected for the second termPDP
BenueGabriel SuswamReelected for a second termPDP
BornoKashim ShettimaFirst-termANPP
Cross RiverLiyel ImokeHe was reelected on August 23, 2008, after court nullification of his April 2007 electionPDP
DeltaEmmanuel UduaghanReelectedPDP
EbonyiMartin ElechiReelectedPDP
EdoAdams OshiomholeOshiomhole assumed office on November 12, 2008, after winning an AppealACN
EkitiKayode FayemiOctober 15, 2010, after winning an Appeal. His term came to an end on Oct 16, 2014ACN
EnuguSullivan ChimeSecond termPDP
GombeIbrahim DankwamboFirst-termPDP
ImoRochas OkorochaOkorocha was first elected as Imo governor on May 6, 2011 (rerun)APGA
JigawaSule LamidoSecond termPDP
KadunaYakowa to YeroYakowa became governor of Kaduna state on May 10, 2010, following the appointment of Namadi Sambo as the Vice President to Goodluck Jonathan.
Sadly, Yakowa died in a helicopter crash on December 15, 2012, and Ramalan Yero was stepped in as the governor.
KanoRabiu KwankwasoHe was one of the governors between 1999 to 2003, lost to ANPP in 2003, became back in 2011 and wonPDP
KatsinaIbrahim ShemaReelectedPDP
KebbiUsman DakingariReelectedPDP
KogiIbrahim IdrisIdris was re-elected on March 29, 2008, after the 2007 election was nullifiedPDP
KwaraAbdulfatah AhmedFirst-termPDP
LagosBabatunde FasholaSecond termACN
NasarawaUmaru Tanko Al-MakuraFirst-termCPC
NigerMu’azu Babangida AliyuReelectedPDP
OgunIbinkunle AmosunFirst-termACN
OndoSegun MimikoHe assume office on February 24, 2009, after the nullification of the election of PDPLP
OsunRauf AregbesolaAregbesola assumed office on November 26, 2010, after the nullification of the election that brought Oyinlola to powerACN
OyoIsiaka A AjimobiFirst-termACN
PlateauJonah JangSecond termPDP
RiversRotimi AmaechiReelectedPDP
SokotoAliyu WamakkoWamako was re-elected on May 28, 2008 after the nullification of his 2007 electionPDP
TarabaDanbaba SuntaiReelectedPDP
YobeIbrahim GaidamANPP
ZamfaraAbdul’aziz Abubakar YariFirst termANPP


  • Most of the elections in Nigeria are decided by the court
  • No governor in Nigeria has been able to solve the issue of insecurity in their state
  • Most of the state governors wait on allocation from the Federal Government to execute projects in their states
Also Read:  List of Collapsed Fund Managers in Nigeria

Featured image by vanguardngr

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top