History of Katsina State: Former Governors and LGAs

Last Updated on February 24, 2019 by Ope Quadri

The state is usually referred to as Katsina State to distinguish it from the city of Katsina – which is her capital.

The State was carved out of old Kaduna State and currently have a population that is above 6 million inhabitants.

Quick fact about Katsina State

Date of creation: 23rd of September 1987

Geopolitical zone: North-West zone

Slogan: Home of Hospitality

Aminu Bello Masari is the current governor of the State, a member of the All Progressives Congress, alongside his deputy Mannir Yakubu.


Although there are various ethnic groups in Katsina State, the Hausa people are the predominant group in the State.


Many of the inhabitants of Katsina are muslims, but there are also a reasonable number of Christians living in the State too. For instance, the Church of Nigeria has a Diocese of Katsina. Other Pentecostal churches such as The Redeemed Christian Church of God can also be found there.

Local Government Areas in Katsina State

There are 34 Local Government Areas in Katsina State, and they are:

  1. Bakori
  2. Batagarawa
  3. Batsari
  4. Baure
  5. Bindawa
  6. Charanchi
  7. Dan Musa
  8. Dandume
  9. Danja
  10. Daura
  11. Dutsi
  12. Dutsin-Ma
  13. Faskari
  14. Funtua
  15. Ingawa
  16. Jibia
  17. Kafur
  18. Kaita
  19. Kankara
  20. Kankia
  21. Katsina
  22. Kurfi
  23. Kusada
  24. Mai’Adua
  25. Malumfashi
  26. Mani
  27. Mashi
  28. Matazu
  29. Musawa
  30. Rimi
  31. Sabuwa
  32. Safana
  33. Sandamu
  34. Zango


There are various educational institutions in Katsina State, some of them are:

  • Federal College of Education, Katsina
  • Hassan Usman Katsina Polytechnic, Katsina
  • Federal University of Agriculture, Dutsin-Ma
  • Katsina State University, which was renamed after the late President, Umaru Musa Yar’adua University
  • AlQalam University Katsina
  • Yusufu Bala Usman College of Legal, and General Studies, Daura and the
  • School of Basic and Remedial Studies, Funtua (SBRS/ABU Funtua) and
  • Isa Kaita College of Education Dutsin-Ma, located at Dutsin-ma town.

Notable People From Katsina State

Despite being a ‘not-too-popular’ State in the country, Katsina had produced some popular individuals, including:

  • Mohammed Bello. A former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
  • Muhammadu Buhari. A Military Head of State 1983–1985, Chairman PTF and President of Nigeria since May 29, 2015
  • Ibrahim Coomassie. An Inspector General of Police 1993–1999
  • Ummarun Dallaje. The 39th Islamic Leader of Katsina, the first Fulani emir, as well as the patriarch of the Dallazawa dynasty.
  • Muhammadu Dikko. Emir of Katsina 1906–1944.
  • Shehu Musa Yar’Adua. A politician, major general and Military Vice President 1976–1979
  • Sani Ahmed Daura. A Lagos State commissioner of police 1990, and first Governor of Yobe State 1991–1992
  • Lawal Musa Daura. The Director General of the Nigerian State Security Service
  • Habu Daura. A Commissioner of Police and he was the acting Administrator of Bayelsa State, from February to June 1997
  • Umaru Musa Yar’Adua. The Governor of the State 1999–2007, and President of Nigeria 2007–2010
  • Tajudeen Abdul-Raheem. Pan-Africanist, Oxford Rhodes Scholar and Former Deputy Director of United Nations Millennium Campaign for Africa 1961–2009
  • Hamza Rafindadi Zayyad. A former head of the Technical Committee on Privatization and Commercialization
  • Abdulmuminu Kabir Usman. Emir of Katsina
  • Isa Kaita. The first northern Nigeria minister of education and speaker of the house of parliament
  • Hassan Usman Katsina. A Military governor of the northern region 1966–1967.
  • Sani Zangon Daura. The Federal Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development 1999–2000, Federal Minister of Environment 2000 – 2001
  • Mohammed Tukur Liman. A former majority leader of the Nigerian Senate.
  • Mamman Shata. A popular Hausa griot/musician
  • Aminu Bello Masari. A former speaker house of representatives 2003 to 2007 and current Governor of the State
  • Mahmud Kanti Bello. A Former Chief Whip of the Senate
  • Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu. An Inspector General of Police from 1975 to 1979
  • Abba Musa Rimi. The Governor of Kaduna State 1980–1983
  • Ibrahim Shema. The Governor of Katsina State 2007–2015
  • Lawal Kaita. The Governor of Kaduna State 1983

Past governors of Katsina State, both military and democratic, are:

  • Abdullahi Sarki Mukhtar
  • Lawrence Onoja
  • John Madaki
  • Saidu Barda
  • Emmanuel Acholonu
  • Samaila Bature Chamah
  • Joseph Akaagerger
  • Umaru Musa Yar’Adua
  • Ibrahim Shema (29 May 2007 to 29 May 2015)
  • Aminu Bello Masari (29 May 2015 till date)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.