history of state creations in nigeria from 1967 till date

History of Osun State and List of Past Governors from 1991 Till Date

Last updated on May 16th, 2023 at 08:23 pm


Osun State is located in Nigeria and is in the southwest part of the country. Nicknamed the “Land of Virtue” and created on the 27th of August 1991, Osun State is close to the likes of Kwara State (to the north), Ekiti State and Ondo State (to the east), Ogun State (to the South) and Oyo State (to the West).

Quick facts about Osun

  • Date of creation: August 27, 1991, by the regime of Gen. Ibrahim Babangida
  • Geopolitical zone: South West
  • Slogan: State of the Living Spring to “Land of Virtue” (and back to the initial slogan)
  • No of LGAs: 30 LGAs, 39 LCDAs, Area offices

With its capital in Osogbo, the current governor of Osun State is Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

According to the 2006 national census, the state had 3,416,959 people.


The State can boast of one of the best universities in the country – Obafemi Awolowo University. The pre-eminent tertiary institution is situated in the ancient town of Ile-Ifẹ.

Ile-Ifẹ itself is an important early centre of political and religious development as far as the Yoruba ethnic group is concerned.

Apart from Ile-Ifẹ, other important cities and towns in Osun State are Oke-Ila Orangun, Ilesa, Ipetu-Ijesa, Ila Orangun, Ijebu-Jesa, Ede, Iwo, Ejigbo, Modakeke, Ibokun, and Ifetedo among others.

There are many business opportunities in Osun State for indigenous and foreign investors. The state is known for its large deposits of gold and is blessed with fertile land for agricultural cultivation.

Also Read:  Parastatal of Ministry of Police Affairs in Nigeria and Their Mandates


The modern Osun State was carved out of the old Oyo State in 1991.

She got her name from the River Osun – the venerated natural spring that is the manifestation of the Yoruba goddess of the same name.

Osun has a state university – Osun State University (Uniosun) that was launched by former governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola.

Uniosun has six campuses (Osogbo, Okuku, Ikire, Ejigbo, Ifetedo, and Ipetu-Ijesha) strategically scattered across Osun .

Some popular cultural events in Osun State include the Ori Oke and Egungun festival in Iragbiji, Olojo in Ife and the Osun Osogbo festival.


Although there are various people from various parts of Nigeria residing in the State, the predominant sub-ethnic groups in Osun are Ife, Ijesha, Oyo, Ibolo and Igbomina of the Yoruba people.

Yoruba and English are the official languages in the State, and there are various religions being practiced there.

However, there are a lot of Christians and Muslims in Osun, in fact, there are some popular religious leaders who hail from the State, including Pastor E.A Adeboye (who is from Ifewara) and Pastor (Dr.) Johnson Ade Odewale of Christ Apostolic Church, Calvary Assembly (from Odeomu)

The State government claims to offer services to both Muslims and Christians, especially through Pilgrims Welfare Boards.

Notable People from Osun State

There are numerous famous Nigerians who are from Osun State. Some of them are:

  • Enoch Adeboye. General Overseer RCCG.
  • Gbenga Adeboye- (1959–2003) was a musician, comedian and radio presenter.
  • Toyin Adegbola- An Actress.
  • Sheikh Abu-Abdullah Adelabu – Scholar and cleric
  • Isiaka Adeleke- (1955–2017) politician.
  • Chief Adebisi Akande-Former Governor of Osun State.
  • Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola – State Governor.
  • Davido Adeleke – musician
  • Chief Bola Ige SAN-(1930–2001) Politician and Lawyer.
  • Duro Ladipo – actor and dramatist
  • Akin Ogunbiyi – Mutual Benefits Assurance Founder and an Investor
  • Iyiola Omisore – Politician and Engineer
  • Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola-Former Governor of Osun State and Former Military Governor of Lagos State.
Also Read:  Past and Present PRO of Nigeria Police Force From 1961 Till Date

Past Governor of Osun State from 1991 till date

Here is a list of Osun State past governors (both military and civilian):

1) Leo Segun Ajiborisha was the first military administrator of Osun State. He was there from August 1991 to January 1992

2) Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke: He was the first civilian governor of the State. He came into power on the platform of the SDP in January 1992, and he left in November 1993.

3) Anthony Udofia: He was the administrator from December 1993 to August 1996.

4) Anthony Obi: He took over from Anthony on the 22nd of August 1996, and left in August 1998

5) Theophilus Bamigboye: The military administrator of the State from 1998 to 1999

6) Adebisi Akande: The second civilian governor of the State. He served from May 1999 to May 2003.

7) Olagunsoye Oyinlola: He succeeded Akande and was the governor from May 2003 to November 2010

8) Rauf Aregbesola: Aregbesola was the governor of Osun State from November 2010 to November 2018

9) Isiaka Gboyega Oyetola: He is the immediate past governor of the State. He assumed office on November 26, 2018. He ran for a second term under the All Progressive Congress (APC), but he was defeated by the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Mr Ademola Adeleke.

10) Ademola Adeleke: He is the incumbent governor of Osun State. His victory to the Abere Governor’s Office wasn’t an easy one during the 2018 and 2022 elections.

But his 4-year term as the number 1 man in the state remains unshakable following his victory at the Supreme Court on Tuesday, May 9, 2023. Ademola flogged Oyetola at the polls and at the court.

Also Read:  List of Collapsed Fund Managers in Nigeria


  • InfomediaNG

    The Infomediang Team comprises a group of researchers, data analysts, and financial experts who closely follow government policies and spending. Our passion lies in empowering people to make informed decisions about their investments by simplifying data for easy understanding. Find us @infomedia_ng on X.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top