History of Kogi State: Tourist Centres And Past Governors from 1991 Till Date

Last updated on October 30th, 2021 at 11:55 am

Kogi State is one of the 36 States that constitute the Federal Republic of Nigeria and is located in the North Central geopolitical zone of the country.

Nicknamed “The Confluence State” and established on the 27th of August 1991, Kogi State earned her nickname due to the confluence of River Niger and River Benue at its capital (Lokoja)

It is necessary to emphasize that Lokoja is the first administrative capital of modern-day Nigeria.

With a population that is over 4 million inhabitants, the current governor of Kogi State is Yahaya Bello of the All Progressive Congress alongside his deputy Simon Achuba.

Agriculture is a major part of Kogi’s economy with fishing in the riverine areas like the capital of the State. Kogi is also blessed with the likes of coal, petroleum, steel and others.

The major ethnic groups in Kogi State are Igala, Ebira, and Okun.


The State is the only one in the country that shares a boundary with ten other states.

She is neighbor to the Federal Capital Territory (to the north), Nasarawa State (to the north east), Benue State (to the east), Enugu State (to the south-east), Anambra State (to the south), Edo State (to the south-west), Ondo State (to the west), Ekiti State (to the west), Kwara State (to the west), and Niger State (to the north).

History And People

Kogi State was carved out from parts of Kwara State and Benue State. It currently comprises the people of the Kabba Province of Northern Nigeria.

Also Read:  List of Collapsed Fund Managers in Nigeria

Although there are various ethnic groups in the State, the major ones are:

  • Igala
  • Ebira
  • Okun (a Yoruba Group)

Kogi State no doubt is an important one as far as Nigeria is concerned. Quite important that the name the country bears were coined in Lokoja by Flora Shaw.

Local Government Areas in Kogi State

There are 21 local government areas in the State, and they are:

  • Adavi
  • Ajaokuta
  • Ankpa
  • Bassa
  • Dekina
  • Ibaji
  • Idah
  • Igalamela-Odolu
  • Ijumu
  • Kabba/Bunu
  • Koton Karfe
  • Lokoja
  • Mopa-Muro
  • Ofu
  • Ogori/Magongo
  • Okehi
  • Okene
  • Olamaboro
  • Omala
  • Yagba East
  • Yagba West


There are various exciting places to see in Kogi State, such as:

  • Lord Lugard House
  • Confluence of Rivers Niger and Benue
  • Ogidi (An African town with formations of Igneous Rock mountains and a traditional art & craft industry)

Transport And Communications

The State links the FCT with over 20 Southern States. The Abuja International Airport serves as the national and international gateway for air travelers from and to Kogi.

Agriculture And Resources

There are a lot of farmers in Kogi State and they produce crops like coffee, cocoa, palm oil, cashews, groundnuts, maize, cassava, yam, rice and melon.

Kogi State also has mineral resources such as coal, limestone, iron, petroleum and tin. Kogi is home to the largest iron and steel industry in the country – Ajaokuta Steel Company Limited.

Higher Institutions in Kogi

There are a handful of educational institutions in the State. Some of them are:

  • Federal University (Lokoja)
  • Kogi State University Anyigba
  • Federal Polytechnic Idah
  • Kogi State Polytechnic (Lokoja)
  • Federal College of Education (Okene)
  • College of Education (Ankpa)
  • College of Agriculture Kabba
  • Kogi state college of education, technical (Kabba)
  • Salem University, Lokoja.
  • ECWA School of Nursing in Egbe.
Also Read:  TraderMoni Eyowo Transfer Codes to Bank Account

Notable People from Kogi

Kogi State has produced some influential Nigerians that are doing well in various spheres of life. Some of them are:

  • Rt.Hon. Chief S A Ajayi OFR
  • Darey- Darey Art Alade
  • Joseph Benjamin
  • Halima Abubakar
  • Praiz
  • Mercy Johnson
  • Jummai Joseph
  • Jaywon

Past governors of Kogi State from 1991 till date (military and democratic) are:

  • Danladi Mohammed Zakari
  • Abubakar Audu
  • Colonel Paul Omeruo
  • Colonel Bzigu Afakirya
  • Augustine Aniebo
  • Abubakar Audu
  • Ibrahim Idris
  • Clarence Olafemi
  • Ibrahim Idris
  • Idris Wada
  • Alhaji Yahaya Adoza Bello (Present)





  • Opeyemi Quadri

    Ope is a finance writer and researcher with 10+ years of experience in content creation. His interests cut across investment, foreign exchange, government policies and politics. Ope is available on Twitter @OpeQuadri.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top