Mala kachalla former nigerian state governors in between 1999 to 2003

Nigerian State Governors Between 1999 to 2003

Last updated on March 16th, 2022 at 02:09 pm


Nigeria had many historic moments, one such moment was when the fourth republic was ushered in on May 29, 1999. It marked the end of the military regime in Nigeria.

Before the marking of the end of military rule, political parties had been founded in late 1998, preparatory to a democratic rule.


  • Some of the elected state governors in 1999 were elected state governors during the Babangida regime during the aborted Third Republic between 1992 to 1993
  • All the state governors in the South-West except Bola Tinubu of Lagos lost in their second bid, states including Ekiti, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, and Ogun were swept by PDP.
  • Alliance for Democracy had its root in the South-West popularly called the Yoruba region
  • All Peoples Party had its root in Northern Nigeria
  • Only PDP had a national coverage

The republic was initiated by the military regime of General Abdulsalami Abubakar. And he handed over power to his former boss in the Army, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, who was just coming from the prison.

The 36 state governors that emerged contested under three major political parties at the time:

  1. Alliance for Democracy (AD)
  2. People Democratic Party (PDP)
  3. All Peoples Party (APP)

Out of 36, PDP won in 21 states

APP won in nine states

AD won in all the six states of the South-West geopolitical zone of Nigeria

Also Read:  6 Agencies of Federal Ministry of Works in Nigeria and Their Mandates


Who are the first set of governors in 1999?

Below is a list of Nigerian state governors between 1999 to 2003. However, some of them won the second term while some of them were unable to retain their seats

StateGovernorsPolitical Party
1AbiaOrji Uzor Kalu PDP
2AdamawaBoni HarunaPDP
3AnambraChinwoke MbadinujuPDP
4Akwa IbomVictor AttahPDP
5BornoMala KachallaAPP
6BenueGeorge AkumePDP
7BayeslaDiepreye AlamieyeseighaPDP
8BauchiAdamu Mu’azuPDP
9Cross RiverDonald DukePDP
10DeltaJames IboriPDP
11EbonyiSam EgwuPDP
12EdoLucky IgbinedionPDP
13EkitiNiyi AdebayoAD
14EnuguChimaroke Nnamani PDP
15GombeAbubakar Habu HashiduAPP
16ImoAchike Udenwa PDP
17JigawaIbrahim Saminu TurakiAPP
18KadunaAhmed Makarfi PDP
19KanoRabiu KwankwasoPDP
20KatsinaUmaru Musa Yar’AduaPDP
21KebbiAdamu AlieroAPP
22KogiAbubakar AuduAPP
23KwaraMohammed Lawal APP
24NasarawaAbdullahi Adamu PDP
25LagosBola TinubuAD
26NigerAbdulkadir Kure PDP
27OndoAdebayo AdefaratiAD
28OgunOlusegun Osoba AD
29OsunAdebisi AkandeAD
30OyoLam AdesinaAD
31PlateauJoshua DariyePDP
32RiversPeter OdiliPDP
33SokotoAttahiru BafarawaAPP
34TarabaJolly NyamePDP
35YobeBukar Ibrahim APP
36ZamfaraAhmad Sani Yerima APP
Governors in Nigeria between 1999 to 2003. Some of them were re-elected as governor between 2003 to 2007 (second term)

Which military regime initiated the fourth republic?

When did the 4th republic begin in Nigeria?

The fourth republic began on May 29, 1999, marking the end of the long military regime.

How many states did APP win in the 1999 governorship election?

APP won in nine states including 1) Zamfara, 2) Yobe, 3) Sokoto, 4) Kwara, 5) Kogi, 6) Kebbi, 7) Jigawa, 8) Gombe, and 9) Borno

Which states did PDP win in the 1999 governorship election?

PDP won in 21 states in the 1999 governorship election. PDP won in all the six states in the South-South, five states in the South-East geopolitical zones and 10 in the Northern states.

What are the political parties in Nigeria in 1999?

The popular political parties in 1999 were PDP, APP, and AD. APP and AD are now defunct

Which states did AD win in the 1999 guber poll?

AD won only in the south-west geopolitical zone including Osun, Oyo, Ondo, Ekiti, Ogun, and Lagos

Featured Image

  • Northeast Reporters Facebook page


  • InfomediaNG

    The Infomediang Team comprises a group of researchers, data analysts, and financial experts who closely follow government policies and spending. Our passion lies in empowering people to make informed decisions about their investments by simplifying data for easy understanding. Find us @infomedia_ng on X.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top