6 Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and Their States

Last updated on December 16th, 2022 at 05:50 pm

The idea for the creation of Nigeria’s six geopolitical zones began in the 80s with a top politician from the “former” Southern region.

He was worried about the continued political domination of the Hausa-Fulani who were hiding under the “one” North political gimmick to dominate other ethnic groups in the North and to the detriment of other parts of the country.

But the final creation of geo-political zones in Nigeria can be traced to the military regime of Sani Abacha in 1995


What are the six geopolitical zones in Nigeria?

The geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the number of states under each of them are:

North East:

  1. Borno
  2. Gombe
  3. Adamawa
  4. Yobe
  5. Bauchi
  6. Taraba

North West:

  1. Jigawa
  2. Kaduna
  3. Kano
  4. Katsina
  5. Kebbi
  6. Sokoto
  7. Zamfara

North Central (also known as Middle Belt):

  1. Benue
  2. Kogi
  3. Kwara
  4. Nasarawa
  5. Niger
  6. Plateau
  7. Federal Capital Territory

South East:

  1. Ebonyi
  2. Abia
  3. Anambra
  4. Imo
  5. Enugu

South-South (also known as Niger Delta region)

  1. Delta
  2. Edo
  3. Akwa Ibom
  4. Bayelsa
  5. Cross River
  6. Rivers

South West:

  1. Lagos
  2. Osun
  3. Oyo
  4. Ekiti
  5. Ogun
  6. Ondo

Note: The North-East is the largest zone by land area. The zone faces the deadliest attacks from terrorists like Boko Haram and ISWAP.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.