governors in nigeria between 2015 to 2019 Abdulaziz-Abubakar-Yari

State Governors in Nigeria 2015-2019


As the uninterrupted democratic process continued in Nigeria, below is a list of state governors in Nigeria between 2015 to 2019. As usual, the sharing of the 36 states were between the two major political parties: APC and PDP

StateGovernorsPolitical PlatformNotes
AbiaOkezie IkpeazuPDP
AnambraWillie ObianoAPGAObiano contested November 2013 governorship election. He took over power from Peter Obi on March 17, 2014
AdamawaBindo JibrillaAPCJibrilla assumed office after the internal wrangling within PDP between 2011 to 2015, where PDP produced three members as governors
Akwa IbomUdom Gabriel EmmanuelPDPUdom was the Secretary to the State Government during Godswill Akpabio’s administration
BayelsaSeriake DicksonPDPHe was in office from February 14, 2012, to February 14, 2020
BenueSamuel OrtomAPCHe contested under the platform of APC in 2015 because his party failed to give him a ticket. Before the end of his first term, he ran back to his former party (PDP)
BauchiMohammed Abdullahi AbubakarAPCHe was in office from 2015 to 2019 but failed to win a second term
BornoKashim ShettimaAPCSecond term
Cross RiverBenedict AyadePDPFirst-term
DeltaIfeanyi OkowaPDPFirst-term
EbonyiDave UmahiPDPFirst-term
EkitiAyo FayosePDPKayode Fayemi was defeated by a PDP candidate and Fayose assumed office (for his second term) on Oct 16, 2014. Fayose’s term came to an end on Oct 16, 2018
EnuguIfeanyi UgwuanyiPDPFirst-term
EdoGodwin ObasekiAPCHe assumed office in 2016. For his second term, he jumped to PDP
GombeIbrahim DankwamboPDPSecond term
ImoRochas OkorochaAPCSecond term
JigawaMohammed Badaru AbubakarAPCFirst-term
KatsinaAminu Bello MasariAPCMasari was a member of PDP before defecting CPC, the to APC under which he won the governorship election
KebbiAbubakar Atiku BaguduAPCFirst-term
KanoAbdullahi Umar GandujeAPCFirst-term
KogiIdris WadaPDPHe was in office between January 2012 to January 2016. On January 27, 2016, Yahaya Bello assumed office following the death of Abubakar Audu. The runner-up during party primaries Bello took over
KadunaNasir Ahmad el-RufaiAPCFirst-term
KwaraAbdulfatah AhmedAPCSecond-term
LagosAkinwumi AmbodeAPCFirst-term. He couldn’t secure second term ticket of his party
NasarawaUmaru Tanko Al-MakuraAPCSecond term
NigerAbubakar Sani BelloAPCFirst-term
OndoRotimi Odunayo AkeredoluAPCHe assumed office on February 24, 2017, for the first term, after the expiration of the tenure of office of Segun Mimiko
OsunRauf AregbesolaAPCAregbesola’s tenure came to an end on November 26, 2018
OgunIbinkunle AmosunAPCSecond term
OyoIsiaka A AjimobiAPCSecond term
RiversEzenwo Nyesom WikePDPFirst-term
SokotoAminu Waziri TambuwalAPCFirst-term
PlateauSimon LalongAPCFirst-term
TarabaDarius IshakuPDPFirst-term
YobeIbrahim GaidamAPCGaidam was in office from January 27, 2009, to May 29, 2019
ZamfaraAbdul’aziz Abubakar YariAPC

Featured image:

  • Sahara Reporters
Also Read:  List of Agencies of Ministry of Power in Nigeria


  • InfomediaNG

    The Infomediang Team comprises a group of researchers, data analysts, and financial experts who closely follow government policies and spending. Our passion lies in empowering people to make informed decisions about their investments by simplifying data for easy understanding. Find us @infomedia_ng on X.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top