State governors in nigeria 2019 to 2023 NYesom-Wike

State Governors in Nigeria 2019 to 2023

Last updated on January 11th, 2023 at 09:35 am


A lot of drama played during the 2019 election and even in 2020 in Bayelsa state. In Bayelsa for instance, the candidate of All Progressive Congress David Lyon was declared the winner of the governorship.

But due to the certificate falsification case against his deputy, the five-man panel of the Supreme Court ruled INEC should issue a certificate of return to the party with the next highest votes which was PDP.

And of course, PDP candidate, Senator Duoye Diri, was sworn in on February 14, 2020.


In another drama in Zamfara State, Bello Matawalle came to power because the APC which had the highest votes during the governorship election in the state failed to conduct primary elections.

And on June 29, 2021, Matawalle formally defected to the APC along with all 3 Zamfara Senators, 6 out 7 members of Representatives, and all 24 House of Assembly members

GovernorsStatesPolitical PlatformsNotes
Okezie IkpeazuAbiaPDPSecond term (2015-2023)
Udom Gabriel EmmanuelAkwa IbomPDPSecond term (2015-2023)
Willie Obiano to Charles SoludoAnambraAPGAObiano’s second term ended on March 17, 2022, and Soludo, a former CBN governor, was sworn-in
Ahmadu Umaru FintiriAdamawaPDPFirst-term
Douye DiriBayelsaPDPFirst-term from February 14, 2020, to February 14, 2024
Samuel OrtomBenuePDPOrtom defected from APC towards 2019 to PDP and he won. PDP was his former party
Babagana Umara ZulumBornoAPCFirst-term
Bala MuhammedBauchiPDPFirst-term
Benedict AyadeCross RiverPDPSecond term. Ayade defected to APC on May 20, 2021
Ifeanyi OkowaDeltaPDPSecond term (2015-2023)
Kayode FayemiEkitiAPCFayemi is on his second term from 2018 to 2022. His first term was between October 15, 2010, to October 15, 2014. He handed over power to Mr Biodun Oyebanji on October 16, 2022.
Godwin ObasekiEdoPDPHe won an election for his first tenure under APC but defected to PDP to fulfil his second term ambition under PDP after his party denied him the ticket due to internal crisis
Dave UmahiEbonyiPDPOn November 17, 2020, Dave Umahi defected from PDP to APC
Ifeanyi UgwuanyiEnuguPDPSecond term (2015-2023)
Muhammad Inuwa YahayaGombeAPCFirst-term
Hope UzodinmaImoAPCFirst-term from 2020 to 2024. His coming to power was dramatic and shocking. He replaced Emeka Ihedioha of PDP by the Supreme Court ruling.
Mohammed Badaru AbubakarJigawaAPCSecond term (2015-2023)
AbdulRahman AbdulRasaqKwaraAPCFirst-term
Yahaya BelloKogiAPCSecond term. He will be in the office from 2016 to 2024
Abubakar Atiku BaguduKebbiAPCSecond term (2015-2023)
Aminu Bello MasariKatsinaAPCSecond term (2015-2023)
Abdullahi Umar GandujeKanoAPCSecond term (2015-2023)
Nasir Ahmad el-RufaiKadunaAPCSecond term (2015-2023)
Babajide Sanwo-OluLagosAPCFirst-term
Abubakar Sani BelloNigerAPCSecond term (2015-2023)
Abdullahi SuleNasarawaAPCFirst-term
Gboyega OyetolaOsunAPCOyetola assumed office on November 26, 2018, and his first tenure comes to an end on November 26, 2022
Rotimi AkeredoluOndoAPCSecond term (2017 to 2015)
Dapo AbiodunOgunAPCFirst-term
Oluwaseyi MakindeOyoPDPFirst-term
Simon LalongPlateauAPCSecond term
Ezenwo Nyesom WikeRiversPDPSecond term
Aminu Waziri TambuwalSokotoPDPSecond term
Darius IshakuTarabaPDPSecond term
Mai Mala BuniYobeAPCFirst-term
Bello MatawalleZamfaraPDP to APCFirst-term.


  1. Featured image by The Sun Nigeria
  2. Samuel Ogundipe (April 5, 2019). “2019 Governorship Elections Tally: APC 15 states, PDP 14”. Retrieved March 16, 2022
  3. BBC Pidgin (May 20, 2021). “Ben Ayade: Why Cross River state Governor defect from PDP to APC”. Retrieved March 17, 2022
Also Read:  State Governors in Nigeria Between 2007 to 2011

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 thought on “State Governors in Nigeria 2019 to 2023”

  1. Cara delevingne

    Thanks so much. This was very helpful because the last one I checked gave me the wrong answer.
    Thanks so much

Scroll to Top