Full List of Banks in Nigeria

Last updated on May 8th, 2024 at 04:19 am


Commercial banks in Nigeria (Deposit Money Banks) operate under seven different categories of banking licences issued by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

They are:

Commercial banking licence with international authorization

  • Access Bank Limited
  • First City Monument Bank Limited
  • Fidelity Bank Plc
  • Guaranty Trust Bank Limited
  • First Bank Nigeria Limited
  • United Bank Of Africa Plc
  • Zenith Bank Plc

Commercial banking licence with national authorization

  • Citibank Nigeria Limited
  • Ecobank Nigeria Limited
  • Standard Chartered Bank Limited
  • Heritage Bank Plc
  • Stanbic IBTC Bank Limited
  • Wema Bank Plc
  • Sterling Bank Limited
  • Globus Bank Limited
  • Titan Trust Bank Limited
  • Keystone Bank Limited
  • Union Bank Of Nigeria Plc
  • Polaris Bank Limited
  • Premium Trust Bank Limited
  • Optimus Bank Limited
  • Unity Bank Plc

Commercial banking licence with regional authorization

  • Providus Bank Limited
  • Signature Bank Limited
  • Suntrust Bank Nigeria Limited
  • Parallex Bank Limited

Non-interest banking licence with national authorization

  • Jaiz Bank Plc
  • TAJ Bank Limited
  • LOTUS Bank Limited
  • Alternative Bank Limited

Merchant banking licence with national authorization

  • Coronation Merchant Bank Limited
  • FBN Merchant Bank Limited
  • FSDH Merchant Bank Limited
  • Greenwich Merchant Bank Limited
  • Nova Merchant Bank Limited
  • Rand Merchant Bank Limited

Financial holding companies

  • Access Holdings Plc
  • Guaranty Trust Holding Company Plc
  • FBN Holdings Plc
  • Stanbic IBTC Holdings Plc
  • FCMB Group Plc
  • Sterling Financial Holdings Limited
  • FSDH Holding Company Limited
Also Read:  How to remove a beneficiary from your Moniepoint Account

Representative Office

  • The Mauritius Commercial Bank Representative Office(Nigeria) Limited


Nigerian banks are classified into eight:

  1. Commercial,
  2. Merchant,
  3. Microfinance,
  4. Mobile money operators,
  5. Non-interest,
  6. Non-interest window,
  7. Payment service, and
  8. Primary mortgage.

All the aforementioned financial institutions are insured by the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC), meaning depositor’s money are safe and secured.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top