Present and Past Ministers of Interior in Nigeria from 1957 Till Date


The government of Alhaji Abubakar Tafawa Balewa constituted the first cabinet in Nigeria. In his first cabinet as the primer minister, Balewa appointed Adegoke Adelabu as the interior minister but he was replaced by Chief Johnson Modupe Johnson as the first interior minister in Nigeria.

In the 50s and 60s, the Ministry of Interior was known as Internal Affairs, it was charged with the mandate of taking care of the internal affairs of Nigeria.

When Balewa first cabinet dissolved, he constituted another one and appointed Usman Sarki while Shehu Shagari was the last internal affairs when soldiers took over power on January 15, 1966 coup, bringing to an abrupt end of the first republic.


Since then, succeeding governments have appointed either civilian or military men as ministers of interior.

At the time of publication, the former governor of Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola is the incumbent head of Nigeria’s Ministry of Interior since August 21, 2019. He took over from Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau, a retired Army General.

Below is a full list of present and past ministers of interior in Nigeria from 1957 till date

Ministers of Interior Years in Office Remark
Adegoke Adelabu
J. M. Johnson 1957–1959
Usman Sarki 1959–1962
Shehu Shagari 1965 to January 15, 1966
Cabinet of Aguiyi Ironsi Jan 15 ‘66 to July 29, 1966 If you have information about Aguiyi-Ironsi’s cabinet, kindly send us a message. His government lasted for less than seven months
Cabinet of Yakubu Gowon 1966 to 1975 If you have information about Gowon’s cabinet, kindly send us a message
Cabinet of Murtala Muhammed 1975-1976 No information at the moment
Cabinet of Olusegun Obasanjo 1976 to 1979 No information at the moment
Maitama Bello Yusuf December 1979 – 1981
Iya Abubakar 1981–1982
Ali Baba 1982 – 1983 (Minister of State)1981 – 1982
Maj.-Gen. Mohammed Magoro 1984 to 1985 Internal Affairs)
John Shagaya 1985-1990
Lamba Gwom 1990-1990
Bagudu Mamman 1990-1992
Tunji Olagunju 1992-1993
Sani Abacha cabinet November 25, 1993, to June 8, 1998 On assumption of office in a palace coup against the Interim National Government, Military dictator Sani Abacha constituted a 32-member cabinet. He did not state their portfolio until days after the bloodless coup. 30 members of his cabinet were civilians purposely to gain the acceptability of Nigerians and the international community.
Abdulsalam Abubakar cabinet August 22, 1998 to May 29, 1999 No information, but he fired majority of ministers that were appointed by Abacha
Sunday Afolabi June 1999 to 2000 A former deputy governor in the old Oyo state. He was later involved in National Identity card corruption. Obasanjo fired him.
Mohammed Shata 2000 to 2003
Iyorchia Ayu July 2003 to June 2005 He was a member of Sani Abacha’s cabinet
Magaji Muhammed July 13, 2005 to June 2006
Oluyemi Adeniji June 21, 2006 to May 2007
Godwin Osagie Abbe July 26, 2007 to 14 July 14, 2009
Shettima Mustafa July 14, 2009 to March 17, 2010
Emmanuel Iheanacho April 6, 2010 to July 2011
Patrick Abba Moro July 2011 to May 2015 Now a senator at the National Assembly. He’s notorious for his involvement in an employment scam that led to the death of 20 job seekers in 2014 during immigration recruitment. The ministry which he headed was accused of pocketing NGN677 million as a recruitment fee from millions of unemployed Nigerians.
Gen Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau (rtd) November 11, 2015 to May 28, 2019 The retired Army General was one of the 18 ministers that Buhari dropped in his second term cabinet
Rauf Aregbesola August 21, 2019 till date


Between December 1979 to October 1983, Janet Akinrinade was the only cabinet member under the administration of Shehu Shagari. She was appointed as Minister of State (Interior)

During the Abacha era, he appointed most of those who opposed his government as cabinet members to reduce the agitations against his rule.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top