11 States In Nigeria That Attracted Foreign Investments in 2020

Last updated on August 5th, 2023 at 09:13 pm

Tagged the pandemic year, 2020 was still rosy for 11 states in Nigeria as Foreign Investors from across the world came to put their monies in the biggest Africa’s economy.

Although Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) dropped by 59.7 percent, Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and 10 states received inflows.

Equities supplied the largest capital inflows, the United Kingdom was the main sources of capital investment for the year under review.

Destination points;

  1. Abia
  2. Abuja
  3. Adamawa
  4. Akwa Ibom
  5. Anambra
  6. Lagos
  7. Niger
  8. Kaduna
  9. Kano
  10. Ogun
  11. Sokoto

What is FDI?

FDI means Foreign Direct Investment and it simply means cross-border direct investment from foreign countries or individuals in another economy.

For instance, Mr Swesmith, a U.S citizen who came to establish a mining industry in Osun State, Nigeria, is involved in foreign investment. It is an FDI for the host state and country (Osun, Nigeria).


Which States Receive The Bulk Of FDI In Nigeria In 2020?

According to data by the National Bureau of Statistics or NBS, Nigeria witnessed the sum of $9.7 billion capital inflow in 2020 compared to $24 billion that was witnessed in 2019.

Below is how the investments were distributed among the 10 states and the FCT:

States Volume of FDI for 2020
Lagos $8.3 billion
Abuja $1.3 billion
Abia $56 million
Niger $16.4 million
Ogun $13.4 million
Anambra $10.2 million
Kaduna $4.03 million
Sokoto $2.5 million
Kano $2.4 million
Akwa Ibom $1.05 million
Adamawa $20,000
Also Read:  The Economist Accusations Against Buhari's Regime That May Affect Investment In Nigeria

Geopolitical analysis of FDI in Nigeria in 2020

Using geopolitical zone to analyse the investments, only two states from southwest: Lagos and Ogun received foreign investments for the year.

Three states from the Northwest region Kaduna, Sokoto, and Kano made the list while only one Northeastern state (Adamawa) received FDI.

In the South-south zone, only Akwa Ibom State made the list; while Anambra and Abia from the Southeast made it while Niger and Abuja represented the Northcentral zone.

What happened to 26 states that received zero FDI?

Although, foreign direct investment flows to Africa was projected to decline between 25 percent and 40 percent, some states in Nigeria are known for wholly depending on the monthly allocation from the Federal Government, even before the pandemic broke

The COVID-19 further complicated their issue. So during 2020, the 26 states that received zero FDI according to NBS are:

  1. Delta
  2. Bauchi
  3. Bayelsa
  4. Oyo
  5. Plateau
  6. Rivers
  7. Benue
  8. Borno
  9. Cross River
  10. Ebonyi
  11. Edo
  12. Ekiti
  13. Enugu
  14. Yobe
  15. Zamfara
  16. Gombe
  17. Kebbi
  18. Kogi
  19. Kwara
  20. Nasarawa
  21. Ondo
  22. Osun
  23. Taraba
  24. Imo
  25. Jigawa
  26. Katsina

What are the states doing?

Before now, we’ve seen the inauguration of investment promotion agency e.g KADIPA, OSIPA among others to sell the investments opportunities in their state.


  • InfomediaNG

    Infomediang Team comprises a group of researchers, data analysts, financial experts, and enthusiasts, whose passion lies in empowering people to make informed decisions about their investments, cryptocurrency holdings, and overall financial health. We are committed to providing readers with accurate, reliable, unbiased, and actionable information on a diverse array of subjects, including investment, finance, the economy, cryptocurrency, travel, and government agencies. Available @Infomedia_NG on X

Also Read:  Largest Geopolitical Zone by Land Area in Nigeria

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.