INEC chairmen in nigeria

UPDATED: INEC Chairmen in Nigeria from 1960 Till Date

Last updated on February 26th, 2023 at 01:45 pm

Since Nigeria gained Independence in 1960, there has been an electoral body constituted by the government to organize a free and fair election.

In this post, we will do a complete analysis of the chairmen of the electoral body in Nigeria from 1960 till date.

This means that the origin of what is now known as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) dated back to pre-independence.

Then there was the Electoral Commission of Nigeria that conducted the 1959 elections. And after independence, the Federal Electoral Commission (FEDECO) came into being to conduct the federal and regional elections of 1964 and 1965.

Having said that see below the full list of INEC chairmen from 1960 till date

See the list of INEC Chairmen from 1960 till date

NameYear in officeName of Electoral Body
Eyo Esua1960-1966FEDECO
Michael Ani1976-1979FEC
Victor Ovie-Whiskey1983FEC
Eme Awa1987-1989NEC
Humphrey Nwosu1989-1993NEC
Prof.Okon Uya1993-1994NEC
Sumner Dagogo-Jack1994-1998NECON
Ephraim Akpata1998-1999INEC
Abel Guobadia2000-2005INEC
Maurice Iwu2005-2010INEC
Attahiru Jega2010 – 2015INEC
Mahmood Yakubu2015 till dateINEC

Eyo Esua (1960-1966):

He’s the first chairman of the electoral body in Nigeria. At the time of his appointment, it is known as Nigeria Federal Electoral Commission (FEDECO).

He was the chairman from 1960 till 1966 when Nigerian soldiers revolted and took overthrew the government through a coup de’tat.

Also Read:  NIPOST State Offices in Nigeria

Michael Ani (1976-1979):

After the government of Gen Murtala Muhammed and Gen Olusegun Obasanjo planned to hand over to a democratically elected government, Obasanjo, after the demise of his boss established came up with the Federal Electoral Commission and appointed Chief Ani as the head to oversee the conduct of 1979 elections.

Victor Ovie-Whiskey (1983):

The government of Alhaji Shehu Shagari who was seeking reelection appointed Ovie-Whiskey to conduct the 1983 elections, unfortunately, the republic was truncated on December 31, 1983.

On assumption of office, the government of Gen. Muhammadu Buhari dissolves the electoral body.

Eme Awa (1987-1989):

Gen Ibrahim Babangida overthrew the government of Buhari in 1985 and tried to return the country to a democratic government, thereby appointing Prof. Awa as the head of the National Electoral Commission of Nigeria.

Humphrey Nwosu (1989-1993):

Nwosu conducted an election that has been described as the freest and fair election in Nigeria. The election produced Chief M.K.O Abiola of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) as elected Nigerian president. Unfortunately, the election was annulled.

Prof.Okon Uya (1993-1994):

He was summarily appointed by IBB

Sumner Dagogo-Jack (1994-1998):

He was in charge of the National Electoral Commission of Nigeria (NECON) created by the regime of late Gen. Sani Abacha, NECON conducted elections for Abacha, who was trying to transform himself into a democratically elected head of state.

All the five political parties at the time had nominated him. The elected persons never assumed office before the sudden death of Abacha in June 1998.

Ephraim Akpata (1998-1999):

In 1998 General Abdulsalam Abubakar’s Administration dissolved NECON and came up with the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) which organized the transitional elections that ushered in the Nigerian Fourth Republic on May 29, 1999. Obasanjo won the election that year.

Also Read:  Top 20 Profitable Businesses In Nigeria

Abel Guobadia (2000-2005):

The regime of Chief Olusegun Obasanjo appointed Guobadia as the head of INEC and conducted the elections of 2003. Obasanjo won the election back to back.

Prof. Maurice Iwu

Maurice Iwu (2005-2010): In June 2005, Guobadia retired and was succeeded by Professor Maurice Iwu, who has been described as one of the most controversial INEC heads since 1999 till date.

During his reign as INEC boss, he announced that foreign monitors would not be allowed during elections, but only foreign election observers.

Iwu conducted the 2007 elections that brought in the Late Alhaji Shehu Musa YarÁdua, who confessed that the election that brought him to the government was not free and fair.

Prof. Attahiru Jega (2010 – 2015):

He assumed office on June 8, 2010, he was appointed by President Goodluck Jonathan subject to Senate confirmation.

He conducted the 2011 election, in which the incumbent president Jonathan lost to the opposition, Muhammadu Buhari.

A week before the election which was earlier scheduled to hold on February 14, Jega announced the postponement of the election to March 28, citing security concerns.

Announcing the postponement, Jega said in a press conference:

“The commission cannot lightly wave off the advice of the nation’s security chiefs … The risk of deploying young men and women and calling people to exercise their democratic rights in a situation where their security cannot be guaranteed is a most onerous responsibility,” Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) chairman Attahiru Jega told reporters.

“Consequently the commission has decided to reschedule the elections thus. The national elections, i.e. presidential and national assembly, are to hold on March 28, 2015; governorship and state assembly elections are to hold on April 11, 2015.”

Mahmood Yakubu (2015 – 20??):

It’s on record that he postponed the 2019 General Elections six hours before the commencement of the polls.

“Following a careful review of the implementation of its logistics and operational plans and its determination to conduct free, fair and credible elections, the commission came to the conclusion that proceeding with the election as scheduled is no longer feasible.”

BBC quoted him as saying

Prof. Mahmood is also the INEC chairman that will oversee the conduct of the 2023 general elections across Nigeria.

Also Read:  Military Administrators in Nigeria During Abacha Regime (1993-1998)

From the list above, INEC chairmen from 1999 till date are:

  • Ephraim Akpata
  • Abel Guobadia
  • Maurice Iwu
  • Prof. Attahiru Jega
  • Mahmood Yakubu (incumbent)


  • Opeyemi Quadri

    Ope is a finance writer and researcher with 10+ years of experience in content creation. His interests cut across decentralized finance, investment, foreign exchange, government policies and politics. Ope is available on Twitter @OpeQuadri.

Scroll to Top