Old National Identity Card nin number

7 Agencies under the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy in Nigeria

Last updated on May 8th, 2024 at 04:55 am


The six agencies under the Ministry of Digital Economy are NCC, NITDA, Galaxy Backbone, NigComSat, NIPOST, USPF

Who is the Minister of Communications and Digital Economy?

Dr. Bosun Tijani is Nigeria’s Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy. Until his appointment, the Ministry was known as Communications and Digital Economy.

Significance of the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy

In today’s world, Information Communication Technology (ICT) is the driver of the economy and around the world, countries are generating billions of US dollars yearly through the deployment of ICT.


But in Nigeria where a change in government automatically means a change in policy (inconsistency), communication was formally merged with the Ministry of Information until 2011 when it was granted an “independence” and was called the Ministry of Communication Technology.

Adebayo Shittu was in charge from 2015 till 2019, the coming on board Dr. Isa Ali Ibrahim Pantami changed the face and operation of the ministry and called the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy.

Also Read:  Why Alison Madueke Allegedly Gifted Dominica Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit Property Worth $2.2m

6 Core Mandates of Nigeria’s Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy:

With the addition of “economy” it means the ministry wants to do more than being a ministry. It shows it’s ready to add value to Nigeria’s revenue using the unlimited investment opportunities.

Below are some of the functions of the ministry:

1) To be the core driver of innovation, competitiveness, and Nigeria’s economic growth To be a pool of highly qualified creative talents in the ICT sector.

2) To build a digitally skilled nation that will be able to compete with technologically driven economies around the world.

3) To facilitate ICT as a key tool in the transformation agenda for Nigeria in the areas of job creation.

4) To formulate policies that will propel the Nigerian economy to a digitalized economy.

5) Located at the Federal Secretariat Complex Phase I, Annex III, Shehu Shagari Way Abuja FCT, the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy is also to facilitate cost-effective access to communications infrastructure in Nigeria.

6) To effectively use ICT to drive transparency in governance


The agencies under the Ministry of Communication and Digital Economy that work towards achieving its goals are:

  1. Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC)
  2. National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA)
  3. Galaxy Backbone
  4. Nigerian Communications Satellite Limited (NigComSat)
  5. Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST)
  6. Universal Service Provision Fund (USPF)

NIMC moved to the Interior Ministry

The National Identity Management Commission (NIMC) was under the Ministry of Digital Economy until Thursday, September 14, 2023, when it was officially announced that the Federal Government had moved NIMC to the Ministry of Interior.

Also Read:  How To Apply For Tony Elumelu Foundation 2022

Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, the minister of interior, had earlier announced it during a meeting with the past comptroller-general of immigration on Tuesday, September 12, 2023.

The move according to the spokesman to the minister was to ensure maximum security for all.

AgenciesYears of Establishment
NCCNovember 1992
NITDAApril 18, 2001
Galaxy Backbone 
NigComSatApril 4, 2006
USPFAugust 2006

Roles of the agencies of Nigeria’s Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy


To protect the interests of consumers against unfair practices by telecommunication companies in Nigeria. And supervise the full implementation of shortcodes for mobile networks in Nigeria.


To provide and promote professional IT skill to undergraduates in Nigeria

Galaxy Backbone

To operate a unified Information and Communication Technology (ICT) infrastructure platform that addresses the connectivity, transversal and other technology imperatives for economic development in Nigeria.


To build and launch satellites for various applications in Nigeria.


To provide and operate facilities for the collection, dispatch, and distribution of inland and overseas mail at a reasonable cost.

It was charged with the responsibility of stamp duty collection in Nigeria until the role was transferred to the FIRS.


To facilitate access of rural dwellers in Nigeria to telecommunication services for universal access and universal service to information and communication technologies (ICTs)


NigComSat which was established during the administration of President Olusegun Obasanjo to build and launch satellites seems to have lost that mandate to NASRDA another agency under the Ministry Science and Technology.

The government which should have made the clarification or merged the two didn’t as Buhari in June 2021 stated that the strategic and constitutional role of NASRDA as the only Government Agency saddled with the core mandate to build and launch satellites for various applications in Nigeria.

Also Read:  List of Agencies of the Ministry of Environment in Nigeria

Some of the projects undertaken by the ministry so that rural dwellers benefit from the ICT as stated under the pillars of the National Digital Economy Policy Strategy (NDEPS) are:

  • Digital Economy Centre in some parts of Nigeria
  • E- Learning Facilities, Imam Malik Academy, Sokoto State.
  • E- Learning Facilities, Nneato Secondary School, Abia
  • E- Learning University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom
  • E- Learning Eleyele Secondary School, Oyo State
  • Emergency Communication Centre, Lokoja, Kogi
  • School Knowledge Centre, Sanda Kyarimi Day Secondary School, Borno
  • Tertiary Institution Knowledge Centre, Gombe State College of Education deployed by USPF


  • Official website: commtech.gov.ng
  • facebook.com/FMoCDE
  • Twitter: @FMoCDENigeria
  • Instagram: @fmocde

Past and Present Ministers

  • John Ogar Odey
  • Omobola Johnson
  • Abdur-Raheem Adebayo Shittu
  • Isa Pantami: 2019 – May 29, 2023
  • Bosun Tijani-August 16, 2023 till date

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 thought on “7 Agencies under the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy in Nigeria”

Scroll to Top