history of state creations in nigeria from 1967 till date

History of Borno State: Past Governors from 1976 till date, LGAs and Emirates

Last updated on June 16th, 2023 at 12:10 pm


Borno State is located in the North-Eastern part of Nigeria and is one of the 36 States of the federation. Nicknamed the “Home of Peace”, Borno was created on February 3rd 1976 after the then North-Eastern State was dismantled. There are three geo-political zones in Borno.

  • Date created: February 3, 1976
  • Motto: Home of Peace

In 1991, Yobe State was carved out of Borno State, and she currently has 27 local government areas. The capital of the State is Maiduguri, and Borno is the homeland of the Kanuri people in the country.

Professor Babagana Umara Zulum is the current governor of Borno State



The Kanuri people are predominant in the Borno State, although other ethnic groups are also thriving in the State – including the likes of Lamang, Babur/Bura and Marghi.

Shuwa Arabs are majorly the offsprings of the Arab people and show how much some African traditional political institutions ensure certain things.

The rulers of the former Kanem-Bornu Empire have played a part in the politics of this region for over 900 years.

The current Kanemi dynasty took over the helm of affairs in the Borno Emirate in the 19th century after the Fulani jihad of Usman dan Fodio.

Also Read:  Latest CV Format in Nigeria Recommended By HR Expert (Free Download)

However, the region was overpowered by the Europeans in the 20th century.

After the British incorporated the region into the Northern Nigerian Protectorate in year 1902, they made Maiduguri or Yerwa the capital in 1907.

After the country got her independence from the British in 1960, the State remained fairly autonomous until the expansion of the number of states in Nigeria to 12 some 7 years later.

When Obasanjo brought about some reforms in 1976 targeted at . local government, the power of the emirs of the former dynasty were reduced.

By 1979, the emirs’ jurisdiction has been restricted simply to cultural and traditional matters. However, the emirs haven’t been eradicated ,but they still exist till today, serving as advisers to the local government.

In May 2013, former Nigerian president Goodluck Jonathan declared a state of emergency in Borno State (as well as the other North-Eastern States including Adamawa and Yobe States)

He took the step after the clash between Boko Haram and the state armed forces killed as many as 200 people in the town of Baga.

The Nigerian Armed Forces made known her intentions to continue being at the offensive part till they eradicate insurgents from every part of the country.

Local Government Areas in Borno State

Here are the twenty-seven (27) Local Government Areas in the State.

  • Maiduguri
  • Askira/Uba
  • Abadam
  • Ngala
  • Bayo
  • Gubio
  • Kala/Balge
  • Biu
  • Guzamala
  • Mafa
  • Chibok
  • KagaKonduga
  • Damboa
  • Kukawa
  • Bama
  • Gwoza
  • Magumeri
  • Jere
  • Hawul
  • Marte
  • Dikwa
  • Kwaya Kusar
  • Mobbar
  • Shani
  • Monguno
  • Nganzai

Additionally, there are some other 8 Emirate Councils saddled with the responsibilities of advising the local governments on issues pertaining to culture and traditions

They are:

  • – Borno
  • Damboa
  • Dikwa
  • Biu
  • Askira
  • Gwoza
  • Shani
  • Uba Emirates
Also Read:  4 Practicable Steps To Complete AGSMEIS EDI Training


Borno State might be filled with Muslims that supports the establishment of the Sharia law in the State, but there are also a lot of Christians living there. Borno State is the home of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Maiduguri as well as some other Christian churches.

Governors of Borno State from 1976 Till Date

Below is the full list of past governors in Borno State.

1) Musa Usman: Military Governor from 28 May 1967 to July 1975 when it was North-Eastern State

2) Muhammadu Buhari: Military administrator from July 1975 to March 1976 when it was North-Eastern State.

3) Group Captain Mustapha A. Amin: Was the first governor of Borno State from March 1976 till July 1978.

4) Tunde Idiagbon: Military governor from July 1978 to October 1979.

5) Mohammed Goni: Executive governor from October 1979 to October 1983 under GNP (Second Republic)

6) Asheik Jarma: Executive governor from 1 October 1983 till December 31, 1983, under NPC.

7) Abubakar Waziri: Military administrator from January 1984 to August 1985

8) Abdulmumini Aminu: Military governor from August 1985 till December 1987.

9) Abdul One Mohammed: A military governor from December 1987 to December 1989.

10) Mohammed Maina: Military governor from December 1989 to June 1990

11) Mohammed Buba Marwa: Military governor from June 1990 to January 1992.

12) Maina Maaji Lawan: Executive governor under SDP from January 1992 to November 1993.

13) Ibrahim Dada: Military administrator from 9 December 1993 to 22 August 1996.

14) Victor Ozodinobi: From August 22, 1996 till 1997.

Also Read:  National Identity Number Registration Centres in Nasarawa State

15) Augustine Aniebo: 1997 to August 1998

16) Lawal Haruna: Military administrator from August 1998 to May 1999.

17) Mala Kachalla: Executive governor of Borno State upon return of Nigeria to democratic government. He ruled from May 29, 1999, to May 29, 2003, under APP.

18) Ali Modu Sheriff: From 29 May 2003 to 29 May 2011 under ANPP.

19) Kashim Shettima: From 29 May 2011 till May 29, 2019

20) Babagana Umara Zulum: Incumbent governor, he assumed office on May 29, 2019 to date


  • Opeyemi Quadri

    Ope is a finance writer and researcher with 10+ years of experience in content creation. His interests cut across decentralized finance, investment, foreign exchange, government policies and politics.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top