Unveiling the Full List of 40 Federal Polytechnics in Nigeria


There are 40 Federal Polytechnics in Nigeria. It was 29 until the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari created an additional 11 between May 2015 to May 2023.

So, a federal polytechnic in Nigeria is established by the central government and is majorly supervised by the Federal Ministry of Education except in special cases where a training institute dedicated for the training of personnel of the military or aviation is upgraded to a polytechnic.

In special cases, don’t be surprised when you find the Airforce Institute of Technology (AFIT), NAF Base and Nigerian Army Institute of Technology and Environmental Science (NAITES) as FEDPOLY.


In this case, they are supervised by the Nigerian Airforce/Ministry of Defence and Nigerian Army/Ministry of Defence respectively.

Whether there are supervised by the Federal Ministry of Education or by another ministry of the government, they are technical institutions that offer post-secondary technical education programmes leading to the award of National Diploma (ND) and Higher National Diploma (HND).

Analysing federal polytechnics in Nigeria

The first Federal polytechnic in is Yaba College of Technology (YABATECH), Lagos. YABATECH, founded in 1947, isn’t just the first FEDPOLY in Nigeria, it is also reputed for being the first ever high institution in Nigeria.

The University of Ibadan formerly known as the University College Ibadan which is the oldest university in Nigeria only came a year after the establishment of YABATECH.

Also Read:  Guideline on JAMB Examination Slip Reprint

In the hierarchy of seniority, Kaduna Polytechnic is the second oldest federal polytechnic and one of the oldest higher institutions in Nigeria. KADPOLY was created in 1956.

Other oldest federal polytechnics in that order are the Nigerian Army Institute of Technology and Environmental Science (NAITES) Makurdi (1960); Nigerian College of Aviation Technology (NCAT), Zaria, Kaduna State (1964); Petroleum Training Institute Effurun, Delta State (1972); and Auchi Polytechnic, Edo State (1973).

One thing to note about the siting of Federal Polytechnics in Nigeria is that at least one FEDPOLY is located in each of the 36 states of the federation for balance.

Where Are The Federal Polytechnics in Nigeria Located?

Here is the full list of FEDPOLY, the year of establishment, and the state they are located.

Name of PolytechnicLocationEstablishment Year
Yaba College of TechnologyYaba, Lagos1947
Kaduna PolytechnicKaduna, Kaduna State1956
Nigerian Army Institute of Technology and Environmental Science (NAITES)Makurdi, Benue State1960
Nigerian College of Aviation Technology (NCAT)Zari, Kaduna State1964
Petroleum Training InstituteEffurun, Delta State1972
Auchi PolytechnicAuchi, Edo State1973
Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic, Birnin Kebbi.Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State1976
Airforce Institute of Technology (AFIT),NAF Base KadunaKaduna.1977
Federal Polytechnic Ado EkitiAdo, Ekiti State1977
Federal Polytechnic BidaBida, Niger State1977
Federal Polytechnic IdahIdah, Kogi State1977
Federal Polytechnic NekedeNekede, Owerri, Imo State1977
Federal Polytechnic BauchiBauchi, Bauchi State1979
Federal Polytechnic IlaroIlaro, Ogun State1979
Federal Polytechnic MubiMubi, Adamawa State1979
Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic UnwanaAfikpo, Ebonyi State1981
Federal Polytechnic OkoOko, Anambra State1982
Federal Polytechnic KauraNamoda, Zamfara State. 1983
Federal Polytechnic NasarawaNasarawa State1983
Hussaini Adamu Federal PolytechnicKazaure Jigawa State1991
Federal Polytechnic EdeEde, Osun State1992
Federal Polytechnic OffaOffa, Kwara State1992
Federal Polytechnic DamaturuDamaturu, Yobe State1993
Federal Polytechnic BaliBali, Taraba State.2007
Federal Polytechnic EkoweEkowe, Bayelsa State2007
Federal Polytechnic of Oil and Gas BonnyBonny, Rivers State2014
Federal Polytechnic UkanaUkana, Akwa Ibom State2014
National Institute of Construction Technology UromiUromi, Edo State2014
Federal Polytechnic Ile-OlujiIle-Oluji, Ondo State2016
Federal Polytechnic, Daura Daura, Katsina State2019
Federal Polytechnic KaltungoKaltungo, Gombe State2019
Federal Polytechnic AyedeAyede, Oyo State2021
Federal Polytechnic MungunoMunguno, Borno State2021
Federal Polytechnic N’yakShendam, Plateau State2021
Federal Polytechnic OhodoOhodo, Enugu State2021
Federal Polytechnic UgepUgep, Cross Rivers State2021
Federal Polytechnic WannuneWannune, Benue State2021
Federal Polytechnic OrogunOrogun, Delta State2022
Federal Polytechnic KaboKabo, Kano State2022
Federal Folytechnic UmunnoechiUmunnoechi, Abia State2022

FEDPOLY Established By President Buhari

The two-term of President Buhari comes to an end by May 29, 2023, but since assumption of office on May 29, 2015, his administration established 11 Federal Polytechnics, according to the list on the NBTE portal, (the National Board for Technical Education), they are located in the following states:

  1. Katsina (Buhari’s home state)
  2. Gombe
  3. Benue
  4. Borno
  5. Plateau
  6. Oyo
  7. Cross River
  8. Delta
  9. Kano
  10. Abia
  11. Enugu
Also Read:  How To Buy JAMB Registration E-PIN On Remita and Quickteller


  • Opeyemi Quadri

    Ope is a finance writer and researcher with 10+ years of experience in content creation. His interests cut across decentralized finance, investment, foreign exchange, government policies and politics.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top