MassComm, Law: List of New Courses In LAUTECH

Last updated on April 29th, 2024 at 10:24 am


Mass Communication, Political Science, and Law are among the seven new non-technology-based courses that Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomosho, Oyo State, has introduced.

Senate Building of LAUTECH. Source: litcaf

The announcement was made on April 24, 2024, by the acting Vice Chancellor of the institution, Prof Razaq Kalilu, during the grand finale of the 16th convocation ceremony of the Oyo State-owned university, which was held inside the Great Hall, Ogbomoso, Oyo State.

Latest new courses introduced into LAUTECH in 2024

  1. Mass Communication,
  2. Political Science,
  3. Theatre Arts,
  4. Psychology,
  5. Linguistics,
  6. Yoruba,
  7. Law

Courses that were introduced in 2019

The institution made a similar announcement in 2019 when it introduced Cyber Security, Marketing, and Economics. The eight new departments at LAUTECH are spread across three faculties ( Faculty of Computer Science and Informatics; Faculty of Food and Consumer Sciences; and  Faculty of Management Sciences).


The courses are:

  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Cyber Security
  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Information System

Duration: 4 Years

Two new departments were also allocated to the Faculty of Food and Consumer Sciences. They are:

  • Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) Food Science
  • Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) Nutrition and Dietetics

Duration: 5 Years

Also Read:  Restructured New Courses in Nigerian Universities: Complete List and Key Highlights

While the Faculty of Management Sciences has the highest number of new courses, taking four new departments, they are:

  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Economics
  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Business Management
  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Accounting
  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) Marketing

Duration: 4 Years

Complete list of existing courses

  1. Statistics
  2. Medicine
  3. Psychiatry
  4. Radiology
  5. Surgery
  6. Philosophy
  7. History
  8. Anaesthesia
  9. Sociology
  10. Anatomy
  11. Biochemistry
  12. Physiology
  13. Ophthalmology
  14. Building
  15. Food Science
  16. Accounting
  17. Economics
  18. Marketing
  19. Earth Sciences
  20. General Studies
  21. Chemical Pathology
  22. Community Medicine
  23. Ear, Nose and Throat
  24. Medical/Surgical Nursing
  25. Computer Science
  26. Cyber Security Science
  27. Information Systems
  28. Agricultural Engineering
  29. Chemical Engineering
  30. Civil Engineering
  31. Computer Engineering
  32. Food Engineering
  33. Mechanical Engineering
  34. Architecture
  35. Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  36. Pediatrics and Child Health
  37. Pharmacology & Therapeutics
  38. Agricultural Economics
  39. Nutrition and Dietetics
  40. Business Management
  41. Hospitality and Tourism
  42. Transport Management
  43. Estate Management
  44. Fine and Applied Arts
  45. English and Literary Studies
  46. Surveying and Geoinformatic
  47. Forest Resource Management
  48. Animal Production and Health
  49. Crop Production & Soil Science
  50. Medical Laboratory Science
  51. Pure and Applied Physics
  52. Pure and Applied Biology
  53. Pure and Applied Chemistry
  54. Urban and Regional Planning
  55. Pure and Applied Mathematics
  56. Science Laboratory Technology
  57. Consumer and Home Economics
  58. Library and Information Science
  59. Maternal and Child Health Nursing
  60. Mental Health/Psychiatric Nursing
  61. Public/Community Health Nursing
  62. Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  63. Crop and Environmental Protection
  64. Animal Nutrition and Biotechnology
  65. Haematology and Blood Transfusion
  66. Morbid Anatomy & Histopathology
  67. Wildlife and Ecotourism Management
  68. Aquaculture and Fisheries Management
  69. Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  70. Agricultural Extension and Rural Development


  1. Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources
  2. Faculty of Agricultural Sciences
  3. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  4. Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences
  5. Faculty of Clinical Sciences
  6. Faculty of Computing and Informatics
  7. Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  8. Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  9. Faculty of Food and Consumer Sciences
  10. Faculty of Management Sciences
  11. Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences
  12. Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  13. Faculty of Nursing Sciences
  14. Faculty of Law
Also Read:  Top-Up Programme: Nigerian Universities Where You Can Convert HND to BSc

Admission Requirements

Candidates seeking admission to any of the programmes must possess a minimum of credit passes in at least five (5) subjects at 0’Level, including English Language and Mathematics at not more than two (2) sittings in the GCE, SSCE, (WAEC, NECO, NABTEB).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 thought on “MassComm, Law: List of New Courses In LAUTECH”

  1. Can I have English, mathematics, physics and geography as my jamb subject combination for Cyber Security in lautech university.
    Cause that’s what I chose

Scroll to Top