ministries in Oman

List of 23 Ministries in Oman

Last updated on September 28th, 2023 at 01:52 pm


Located in Earth’s largest and most populous continent (Asia), the Sultanate of Oman is one of the 22 members of the Arab League which can be found in the Arabian Peninsula.

The country practices what is politically known as diarchy: a combination of two systems of government: unitary and an absolute monarchy.

As complicated as that may sound to people who are not familiar with the politics of the Western Asian country, well…there is still more to that: the Sultan (usually hereditary) has ultimate power over the legislative, executive and judiciary arms of government.


Omani Ministries

There are 23 ministries in Oman supervised by ministers who are appointed through a royal decree by the country’s Sultan. There are other government agencies and departments that also perform arrays of roles in assisting the government to implement policies.

Muscat is Oman’s capital and largest city. The capital city has a population of 1,623,000 (2022), showing a 2.08% increase from the 2021 population figure.

Before the August 2020 royal decree issued by the Asian country’s His Majesty Haitham bin Tariq, there were 27 ministries in Oman, that decree reduced the number of ministries to 23 for more effectiveness in the implementation of the government policies.

The 23 ministries in Oman are:

  1. Council of Ministers
  2. Ministry of Labour
  3. Ministry of Defence
  4. Ministry of Finance
  5. Ministry of Royal Office
  6. Ministry of Interior
  7. Ministry of Economy
  8. Ministry of Education
  9. Ministry of Health
  10. Ministry of Information
  11. Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  12. Ministry of Energy and Minerals
  13. Ministry of Social Development
  14. Ministry of Heritage and Tourism          
  15. Ministry of Diwan of Royal Court
  16. Ministry Justice and Legal Affairs
  17. Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Youth
  18. Ministry of Awqaf and Religious Affairs
  19. Ministry of Housing and Urban Planning
  20. Ministry of High Education, Research, and Innovation
  21. Ministries of Agriculture, Fisheries and Water Resources
  22. Ministry of Commerce, Industry, and Investment Promotion
  23. Ministry of Transport, Communications and Information Technology
Also Read:  What Are The Three Organs of Government?

The above ministries have different visions and missions. For instance, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs works towards expanding the country’s tourism by increasing the number of countries that can enter Oman visa-free.

The most important thing is that they all working to drive the collective implementation of policies toward the development of Oman.

For instance, the Ministry of Transport, Communications and Information Technology (MTCIT) is in charge of the supervision of the ports and airports and other national projects that are built to connect Oman with Arab nations, the continent, and the rest of the world.

Most of the projects of the MTCIT and technology-driven to raise income and develop the country economically.

However, the Ministry of Heritage and Tourism also comes in along the way to promote the heritage and culture of the country by tapping from the well-executed projects by the MTCIT, so also the ministry of economy among others.

Ministers in Oman

There are 23 ministers in Oman. They are called the Council of Ministers. Omani Council of Ministers is a body that is charged with the responsibilities of monitoring, coordinating and implementing government policies. Politically, it is the chief executive body of the Sultanate of Oman.

The council of ministers also makes economic, social, security, welfare, and administrative recommendations to the Sultan. The Sultan of Oman presides over meetings of the Council of Ministers.

Out of the 23 ministers, three of them are women who are in charge of 1) Ministry of Education, 2) Social Development, and 3) Higher Education, Research and Innovation.

Also Read:  What Are the Communist Countries in the World?

At the time of compiling this report, the 23 Ministers in Oman and their portfolios are as follows:

Council of MinistersSayyid Fahd bin Mahmoud Al Said
EconomySaid bin Mohammed bin Ahmed Al Saqri
DefenceSayyid Shihab bin Tarik bin Taimur Al Said
LabourMahad bin Said bin Ali Baowain
InteriorSayyid Hamood bin Faisal bin Said Al Busaidi
Royal OfficeGeneral Sultan bin Mohammed Al Nomani
EducationMadiha bint Ahmed bin Nasser Al Shibaniyah
FinanceSultan bin Salim bin Said Al Habsi
HealthHilal bin Ali Al Sabti
Heritage and TourismSalim bin Mohammed bin Said Al Mahroqi
Foreign AffairsSayyid Badr bin Hamad bin Hamood Albusaidi
Social DevelopmentLaila bint Ahmed bin Awadh Al Najar
Energy and MineralsSalem bin Nasser Al-Awfi
InformationAbdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa Al Harrasi
Awqaf and Religious AffairsSheikh Mohammed bin Saeed Al Maamari
Culture, Sports, and YouthSayyid Theyazin bin Haitham bin Tarik Al Said
Commerce, Industry, and Investment PromotionQais bin Mohammed bin Moosa Al Yousef
Diwan of Royal CourtSayyid Khalid bin Hilal bin Saud Al Busaidi
Justice and Legal AffairsAbdullah bin Mohammed bin Said Al Saidi
Agriculture, Fisheries and Water ResourcesSaud bin Hamood bin Ahmed Al Habsi
Housing and Urban Planning Khalfan bin Said bin Mubarak Al Shuaili
Transport, Communications and Information TechnologySaid bin Hamood bin Said Al Mawali
High Education, Research, and InnovationRahma bint Ibrahim bin Said Al Mahrouqiyah

Further reading:

  1. Photo by Anfal Shamsudeen
  2. Foreign Ministry of Oman. “Ministers’ profiles”.
  3. Times of Oman (June 16, 2022). “New Ministers appointed in Oman”.
  4. MEED Editorial (January 24, 2011). “Sultanate of Oman ministries”.
Also Read:  Types of Legislature: Unicameral and Bicameral

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top