history of state creations in nigeria from 1967 till date

History of Sokoto State: List of Governors from 1976 Till Date

Last updated on August 17th, 2023 at 08:05 pm


This is one of the 36 states in Nigeria and is in the extreme northwest of the country. The State is usually called Sokoto State to distinguish it from the city of Sokoto – which is its capital.

Established on the 3rd of February 1976 and nicknamed the “Seat of the Caliphate”, the national census conducted in the country in 2006 shows that there are more than 4.2 million people living in the State.

Date of creation: February 3, 1976, by the regime of Gen. Murtala Muhammed


Sokoto State Slogan: Seat of the Caliphate

Geopolitical zone of Sokoto State: North West

The current Governor of Sokoto State is Aminu Waziri Tambuwal of the All Progressives Congress, alongside his Deputy Munir Daniya.

Actually, the name ‘Sokoto’ is the modern version of the local name, ‘Sakkwato’ and is of Arabic origin.

Being the seat of the former Sokoto Caliphate, a lot of people there are Muslims, and the city is an important seat of Islamic learning in the country.

In fact, the Sultan who heads the caliphate is seen as the spiritual leader of Nigerian Muslims.


Since Sokoto State was established in 1976, she has been ruled by governors who succeeded each other at short intervals.

The region that is now known as Sokoto State actually has an interesting history.

During the reign of the Fulani Empire in the 19th century, the region was an important Fula state.

Also Read:  Adamawa State Governors from 1991 To Date

From about 1900 after the British came, the region then encompassed the entire northwest corner of the country. She became a province of the British protectorate of Nigeria. Not long after Gando was added as a sub-province. It included the then Zamfara and Argunga, or Kebbi, kingdoms.

The British controlled the area till the country’s independence in 1960. In 1906, a rising attributed to religious fanaticism occurred near the region and three white officers were killed in the process.

The leader made known his desire to drive the Europeans away from the country, but he was eventually condemned to death in the emir’s court and executed in the marketplace of Sokoto.

About seven years after the country’s independence from Britain, the region became known as the Northwestern State.

In 1976, the territory was split into Sokoto State and Niger State. Later on, Kebbi State (1991) and Zamfara State (1996) split off from Sokoto State.


Although various ethnic groups can be found in the State, the predominant group is the Hausa. Most residents of the State are Sunni Muslims, with a Shia minority.

There are a lot of farmers in Sokoto State as over 80% of its residents practice agriculture.


The State is in the dry Sahel and is surrounded by sandy savannah and isolated hills.

Local Government Areas

There are 23 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in Sokoto State. They are:

  • Binji
  • Bodinga
  • Dange Shuni
  • Gada
  • Goronyo
  • Gudu
  • Gwadabawa
  • Illela
  • Isa
  • Kebbe
  • Kware
  • Rabah
  • Sabon Birni
  • Shagari
  • Silame
  • Sokoto North
  • Sokoto South
  • Tambuwal
  • Tangaza
  • Tureta
  • Wamako
  • Wurno
  • Yabo

Past and Present Governor Of Sokoto State

Here is a list of past governors of Sokoto State (both military and civilian):

Also Read:  How To Register For North East Development Commission ICT Resource Program, Here Are The Training Registration Requirements

1) Alhaji Usman Faruk: Faruk was the first military Governorof Sokoto State (1967to 1975)

2) Colonel Umaru Mohammed: He succeeded Faruk as the next military Governor of the State (March 1976to July 1978)

3) Lt. Colonel Gado Nasko: He was the next military governor of Sokoto State (July 1978to October 1979)

4) Shehu Kangiwa: Kangiwa was the first civilian Governor of Sokoto (October 1979 to 1981)

5) Garba Nadama: He succeeded Kangiwa (1982December to 1983)

6) Colonel Garba Duba: Power returned to the military, and Duba became the next military. Governor(January 1984 to August 1985)

7) Colonel Garba Mohammed: He succeeded Duba (August 1985 to December 1987)

8) Colonel Ahmed Muhammad Daku: The next military governor of the State (December 1987 to August 1990)

9) Colonel Bashir Salihi Magashi: He was next after Daku (August 1990 to January 1992 )

10) Malam Yahaya Abdulkarim: Yahayabecame the third civilian Governorin Sokoto State (January 1992 to November 1993)

11) Colonel Yakubu Mu’azu: Power was snatched by the Military, and Yakubu became the military Administrator (9 December 1993to 22 August 1996)

12) Navy Captain Rasheed Adisa Raji: The next military Administrator(22 August 1996 to August 1998)

13) Group Captain (Air Force) Rufai Garba: He succeeded Raji as the next military Administrator(August 1998to May 1999)

14) Attahiru Bafarawa: Democracy came back to the country, and Bafarawa become the next civilian Governor of Sokoto State (29 May 1999to 29 May 2007)

15) Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko: He succeeded Bafarawa (29 May 2007to 11 April 2008)

16) Abdullahi Balarabe Salame: Acting Governor from 11 April 2008to 28 May 2008)

Also Read:  8 Agencies of Ministry of Information in Nigeria and Their Core Mandates

17) Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko: He succeeded Salame (28 May 2008to 28 May 2011)

18) Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko: He  came into power on the 28th of May 2011and left on the 28th of May 2015)

19) Aminu Waziri Tambuwal: May 29, 2015 till date

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top