2021 Anambra Governorship Election Result

2021 Anambra Governorship Election Result for All 21 Local Government Areas As Charles Soludo Becomes Governor-Elect

Last updated on August 5th, 2023 at 09:08 pm


UPDATED: The election results of the much anticipated November 6, 2021 Anambra Governorship election result has been collated and Prof. Charles Soludo of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) has been declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Election (INEC).

Election results of 21 local government areas were announced by INEC at Awka, the state capital where all collation officers in each of the local governments converged to give accounts of what happened at the LGA they were posted.

Summary of 2021 Anambra governorship election:

  • Electoral umpire: INEC
  • Registered Voters: 2.5 million
  • Polling unit: 5,720 polling units
  • Polling units with no registered voters: 86
  • Total valid votes: 229,521
  • Rejected votes: 7,841
  • Total votes cast: 237,362
  • APGA: 112,229
  • APC: 43,285
  • PDP: 53,807
  • YPP: 21,261
  • Date of election: Saturday, November 6, 20201
  • Number of contestants: 18
  • Number of political parties: 18
  • Anambra collation and returning officer: Prof. Florence Obi (Vice-Chancellor of the University of Calabar )

How many political parties contested in the election?

In the election, candidates of 18 political parties vied for the highest position in the state, but on this election result, we focused on four major political parties and their candidates:

Political Party 4 Major Candidates
All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) Chukwuma Michael Umeoji Soludo
All Progressive Congress (APC) Emmanuel Andy Nnamdi Uba
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Valentine Ozigbo
Young Progressives Party (YPP) Ifeanyi Patrick Ubah
Also Read:  8 Reasons Why Tinubu Suspended N-Power Programme

Who wins the election?

APGA received 112,229 votes to win the 2021 Anambra State Governorship Election. Other parties APC scored 43,285; PDP had 53,807 while YPP gets 21,261 votes.

Declaring the winner, INEC’s Chief Returning Officer, Professor Florence Obi said:

“That Charles Chukwuma Soludo of APGA, having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected”.

Below is the collation of the result as announced by INEC:

Local Government Areas Political Parties Results Winner/Remark
Idemili South APGA 2,312 APGA
PDP 2,016
APC 1,039
YPP 752
Ogbaru APGA 3,051 PDP
PDP 3,445
APC 1,178
YPP 484
Nnewi North APGA 3,369 YPP
PDP 1,511
APC 1,278
YPP 6,485
Onitsha South APGA 4,281 APGA
PDP 2,253
APC 2,050
YPP 271
Dunukofia APGA 4,124 APGA
PDP 1,680
APC 1,991
YPP 1,360
Nnewi South APGA 3,243 APGA
PDP 2,226
APC 1,307
YPP 1,327
Awka South APGA 12,891 APGA
PDP 5,498
APC 2,595
YPP 919
Anambra East APGA 9,746 APGA
PDP 1,380
APC 2,034
YPP 559
Anambra West APGA 1,918 APGA
PDP 1,401
APC 1,233
YPP 357
Ayamelum APGA 3,424 APGA
PDP 2,804
APC 2,409
YPP 407
Idemili North


PDP 2,312
APC 2,291
YPP 902
Ekwusigo PDP 1,857 APGA
APGA 2,570
YPP 727
APC 1,237
Onitsha North YPP 682 APGA
APC 3,909
PDP 3,781
APGA 5,587
Orumba North APC 2,672 APGA.

The Returning Officer of the Orumba North Dr. Michael Otu disclosed he signed the election result under duress. INEC officials met with party representatives and other stakeholders

YPP 655
PDP 1,847
APGA 4,787
Njikoka PDP 3,409 APGA
APGA 8,803
YPP 924
APC 3,216
Awka North APGA 1,908 APGA
PDP 840
APC 755
YPP 381
Anaocha APGA 6,911 APGA
APC 2,085
PDP 5,108
YPP 868
Aguata PDP 3,798 APGA
APC 4,773
YPP 1,070
APGA 9,136
Orumba South APC 2,060 APGA
PDP 1,672
APGA 4,394
YPP 887
Oyi APGA 6,133 APGA
YPP 900
APC 2,830
PDP 2,484
Ihiala APGA 112,229 APGA. On Saturday, the returning officer said the election didn’t hold in the area.

Supplementary election held in 362 polling units in the local government area on Tuesday, November 9, 2021 and APGA won

APC  43,285
PDP 43,285
YPP 21,261

With the above results and Prof Charles Soludo, a former governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) is the winner of the governorship election in Anambra state conducted on Saturday, November 9, 2021. Soludo will join the list of past and present governors of Anambra


  • Soludo of APGA wins in 19 local government areas
  • Ozigbo of PDP won in one LGA
  • Ubah of YPP won in one LGA
  • Andy Uba didn’t win in any LGA
  • Soludo of APGA  received 112,229 votes to become the governor-elect who would succeed Obiano in a few days from now.
Also Read:  How To Check NYSC Senate List

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top