History of Anambra State: Prominent Sons And Daughters

Last Updated on February 3, 2019 by Ope Quadri

Anambra is one of the 36 states in Nigeria, and her capital is Awka (which is also the seat of her government).

Nicknamed the “Light of the Nation“, Anambra is located in the southeastern part of the country and has grown to become one of the most developed states in the country. She is home to the historic port city of Onitsha – which is regarded as the biggest urban area in the State.

Created on the 27th of August 1991, Anambra is neighbor with the likes of Enugu State (to the east), Delta State (to the west), Kogi State (to the north), Imo State and Rivers State (to the south).

She got her name from the Anambra River (Omambala) that flows through the region and is a tributary of the famous River Niger.

The State is dominated by the Igbo ethnic group – that consists of over 97% of the population.

With a population that is above 4 million, Anambra State is one of the most populated states in the country.

Natural Resources

Indeed, she is blessed with various natural resources, including natural gas, crude oil and bauxite.

Additionally, Anambra has good soil for agricultural activities, and she has land cultivated for pasturing and animal husbandry.

Little wonder why many believes the State has the lowest poverty rate in the country.


Anambra State values learning and she excel in terms of education. She has a Federal University – the Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK) located in Awka, with a College of Medicine located at Nnewi.

There is also a State University – The Anambra State University (that used to be Anambra State University of Science and Technology)

Therefore, the literacy rate in Anambra is better than that of various other states in the country. In fact, there are claims that primary and secondary school enrollment in Anambra State is one of the highest in Nigeria.


The State have a rich history, that extends to the 9th century AD. There were discoveries of superb works of art in iron, bronze and copper, that belongs to the ancient Kingdom of Nri; which showed their impressive divine Kingship administrative system.

In some towns, local families had hereditary rights to kingship for years – and even the colonial masters recognised some of these traditional kings during their time in Nigeria.

The British colonialists appointed some leaders as Warrant Chiefs, giving them the authority to collect taxes.

The state is in the region dominated by the Igbo ethnic group that tried forming an independent Biafra in 1967.

Old Anambra State was founded back then in 1976 from part of East Central State. Then, the capital was Enugu, before Enugu became a State on it own in 1991. Thus, the capital of Anambra was moved to Awka.

Local Government Areas  in Anambra State

Anambra State consists of twenty-one (21) Local Government Areas. They are:

  • Aguata
  • Awka North
  • Awka South
  • Anambra East
  • Anambra Wes
  • Anaocha
  • Ayamelum
  • Dunukofia
  • Ekwusigo
  • Idemili North
  • Idemili South
  • Ihiala
  • Njikoka
  • Nnewi North
  • Nnewi South
  • Ogbaru
  • Onitsha North
  • Onitsha South
  • Orumba North
  • Orumba South
  • Oyi

Cities And Administrative Divisions

Every year, Anambra sees a population growth rate of about 2.5%. According to statistics, 60% of those living in the State are staying in urban areas. Thus, it is regarded as one of the most urbanized states in the country.

Although there are various urban centres in the State, the duo of Awka and Onitsha stands out. These two towns grew as pre-colonial urban centres. While Awka, which is the current capital of the State, was the craft industrial place of the Nri hegemony, Onitsha on it part developed as a river port and commercial centre.

Of course, we can’t ignore Nnewi in this discourse. This town is a developing industrial and commercial centre and is sometimes fondly called the Taiwan of Nigeria.

Notable People

There are a lot of successful and prominent people in Nigeria that are from Anambra State. In fact, the impact of many of her sons and daughters are being felt all over the world.

Some of her notable individuals includes:

  • Nnamdi Azikiwe Owelle of Onitsha – the first President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
  • Dr. Alex Ifeanyichukwu Ekwueme. The first executive Vice-President of Nigeria, serving 1979 – 1983.
  • Nwafor Orizu. The first Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
  • Dim Emeka Ojukwu. The leader of the secessionist Biafra Republic;
  • Dr. senator Chuba Wilberforce Okadigbo (December 17, 1941 – September 25, 2003) – a former President of the Senate of Nigeria.
  • Professor Chinua Achebe. An accomplished author.
  • Emeka Offor.  Chairman of Chrome Group
  • Professor Uche Okeke, One of the foremost Nigerian fine artists, founder of the Uli movement.
  • Chuka Umunna, a British Labour Party Member of Parliament for Streatham constituency.
  • Professor Kenneth Dike, the first indigenous Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan and founder of the National Archives.
  • Amobi Okoye. Youngest American football player to play for the NFL (2004), currently is a free agent.
  • Chimamanda Adichie. A writer who won the Orange Prize for Fiction (2007) and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (2008);
  • P.N. Okeke-Ojiudu. The first minister of agriculture in the Nigerian first republic.
  • Louis Odumegwu Ojukwu. First president of the Nigerian Stock Exchange;
  • Cyprian Ekwensi. A writer of international repute
  • Oscar N. Onyema. Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian Stock Exchange and Chairman of Central Securities Clearing System (CSCS).
  • Philip Emeagwali. Winner of the 1989 Gordon Bell Prize for Supercomputing;
  • Azikiwe Peter Onwualu. The former Director General and Chief Executive Officer of the Raw Materials Research and Development Council (RMRDC).

Similarly, you can find all the postal codes for Anambra State in one of our articles.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.