Ministers of Justice in Nigeria from 1960 To Date

Last updated on August 17th, 2023 at 08:31 pm


The first Minister of Justice was Taslim Olawale Elias (renowned jurist) while the present Attorney General of the Federal and Minister of Justice is Lateef Fagbemi.

Since 1960 till date, Nigeria has produced 24 Ministers of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation. The minister is in charge of prosecuting crimes against the State and defending civil cases on behalf of the Federal Government.

The Ministry of Justice has agencies and departments that are coordinated by the minister.


Nigeria’s Justice Minister from 1960 to date

Below is a list of present and past ministers who were appointed by either an executive president of military head of state from 1960 till date.

Abubakar Malami

November 11, 2015 to May 29, 2023

Also Read:  Delta State NIN Registration Centres

Mohammed Bello Adoke

July 2, 2011 to May 2015

Mohammed Bello Adoke

April 6, 2010 to May 29, 2011

Adetokunbo Kayode

Feb 10, 2010 to March 17,  2010

Michael Aondoakaa

July 26, 2007 to Feb 10, 2010

Bayo Ojo

July 2005 to July 2007

Akin Olujimi

July 2003 to July 2005

Kanu Godwin Agabi

2002 to 2003

Bola Ige

January 3, 2000, to December 23, 2001

Kanu Godwin Agabi

June 1999 to January 2000

Achiji Abdullahi Ibrahim

1997 to May 1999

Michael Ashikodi Agbamuche

1994 to 1997

Olu Onagoruwa

1993 to 1994

Clement Akpamgbo

1991 to 1993

Bola Ajibola

Sept 12, 1985, to Dec 4, 1991

Chike Ofodile

1984 to Aug. 1985

Kehinde Sofola

Oct 1983 to Dec. 1983

Richard Akinjide

1979 to 1983

Augustine Nnamani

1975 to 1979

Dan Onuorah Ibekwe

1972 to 1975

Nabo Graham-Douglas

1966 to 1972

GIM Onyiuke

March 1, 1966 to July 29, 1966

Taslim Olawale Elias

1960 to 1966

No female has ever been Nigeria’s Justice Minister

From the list above, no woman has ever been appointed as the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice since Nigeria’s independence in 1960.

One day, we hope a woman will break this jinx just as Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala did as the first female Minister of Finance in Nigeria during the administration of Olusegun Obasanjo.


The Ministry of Justice isn’t only saddled with the responsibility of defending civil cases on behalf of the Federal Government, he also upholds the principle of law.

Unfortunately, most of those who occupied the position during the military regime found themselves in a difficult position because all the military regimes in Nigeria violated fundamental human rights and no justice was done.

What is  Michael Aondoakaa famous for as Nigeria’s former Minister of Justice?

Mr Aondoakaa was famous for saying that President Umar Musa Yar’Adua could rule Nigeria from his Saudi Arabia hospital bed. Yar’Adua died in May 2010.

Who is Nigeria’s longest Minister of Justice?

Abubakar Malami is the longest-serving Nigeria’s Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation.

Mr Malami assumed office as Nigeria’s Justice Minister on November 11, 2015. After the first term of President Muhammadu Buhari, he was reappointed on August 21, 2019.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top