full list of Bola Tinubu’s Cabinet and their portfolios

Full List: Bola Tinubu’s Cabinet, Portfolios, and Their Geo-Political Zones

Last updated on January 9th, 2024 at 12:37 pm


After 77 days his swearing-in, President Bola Tinubu released 46 portfolios of Minister’s designates on Wednesday, August 16, 2023, with his long-time align Wale Edun as Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy.

Others on the list are the controversial human rights activist Festus Keyamo as Aviation Minister; Gboyega Oyetola as the Minister of Marine and Blue Economy.

Against all expectations, Dele Alake, the communication expert who has been a media aide to Tinubu since May 29, was deployed to the Ministry of Solid Minerals instead of the Information Ministry as predicted by millions of political analysts and Nigerians.


Alhaji Mohammed Badaru, the immediate past Governor of Jigawa (2015-2023) is the new Minister of Defence.

The Ministry of Petroleum Resources is to be managed by Tinubu just the way his predecessor did while Heineken Lokpobiri will serve as the  Minister of State of Petroleum Resources.

Sharing of portfolios according to geopolitical zones

The portfolios were shared using the six geopolitical zones in the country. Here is the sharing formula:

  1. North-West (NW): 10
  2. South-West (SW): 10
  3. North-Central (NC): 9
  4. North-East (NE): 7
  5. South-South (SS): 7
  6. South-East (SE): 5

Cabinet of President Bola Tinubu

  • Bola Ahmed Tinubu (GCFR): President and Commander-In-Chief of Armed Forces, Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Kashim Shettima Mustapha (GCON): Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Olufemi Hakeem Gbajabiamila: Chief of Staff to The President
  • Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF): George Akume
  • National Security Adviser (NSA): Nuhu Ribadu
  • All Ministers of the Federal Ministries in Nigeria
Also Read:  2021 Anambra Governorship Election Result for All 21 Local Government Areas As Charles Soludo Becomes Governor-Elect

Ministerial List and their designation

Here is the full list of Bola Tinubu’s ministerial list, their portfolios and their geopolitical zones:

1) Adebayo Olawale Edun: Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy (SW)

2) Bosun Tijani: Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy (SW)

3) Bunmi Tunji Ojo: Minister of Interior (SW). He was redeployed from Marine and Blue Economy to Interior, following minor adjustments in portfolios on Sunday, August 16.

4) Adedayo Adelabu: Minister of Power (SW)

5) Doris Anite: Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment (SE)

6) David Umahi: Minister of Works (SE)

7) Mohammed Badaru: Minister of Defence (NW)

8) Tahir Maman: Minister of Education (NE)

9) Abubakar Kyari: Minister of Agriculture and Food Security (NE)

10) Atiku Bagudu: Minister of Budget and Economic Planning (NW)

11) Ali Pate: Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare (NE)

12) Festus Keyamo: Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development (SS)

13) Simon B. Lalong: Minister of Labour and Employment (NC)

14) Muhammed Idris: Minister of Information and National Orientation (NC)

15) Lateef Fagbemi: Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice (NC)

16) Heineken Lokpobiri: Minister of State (Oil), Petroleum Resources (SS) (formerly Minister of State, Petroleum Resources)

17) Ishak Salako: Minister of State, Environment (SW)

18) Lola Ade-John: Minister of Tourism (SW)

19) Adegboyega Oyetola: Minister of Marine and Blue Economy (SW) (he was redeployed from the Ministry of Transportation).

20) Uche Nnaji: Minister of Innovation Science and Technology (SE)

21) Nkiruka Onyejeocha: Minister of State, Labour and Employment (SE)

Also Read:  Oronsaye Report: List of Affected Agencies and Commissions If The Recommendations Are Fully Implemented

22) Uju Kennedy: Minister of Women Affairs (SE)

23) Abubakar Momoh: Minister of Niger Delta Development (SS) (He was moved from the Ministry of Youth)

24) Betta Edu: Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation (SS), being investigated for financial mismanagement.

25) Ekperikpe Ekpo: Minister of State (Gas), Petroleum Resources (SS). (She was formerly Minister of State, Gas Resources).

26) John Enoh: Minister of Sports Development (SS)

27) Nyesom Wike: Minister of Federal Capital Territory (SS)

28) Hannatu Musawa: Minister of Art, Culture and the Creative Economy (NW)

29) Bello Matawalle: Minister of State Defence (NW)

30) Yusuf T. Sunumu: Minister of State Education (NW)

31) Ahmed M. Dangiwa: Minister of Housing and Urban Development (NW)

32) Abdullah T. Gwarzo: Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development (NW)

33) Mairiga Mahmud: Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory (NW)

34) Bello M. Goronyo: Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation (NW)

35) Sa’Idu A. Alkali: Minister of Transportation (NE) (moved from the Ministry of Interior)

36) Yusuf M. Tuggar: Minister of Foreign Affairs (NE)

37) Maigari Ahmadu: Minister of State, Steel Development (NE)

38) Shuaibu A. Audu: Minister of Steel Development (NC)

39) Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim: Minister of State, Police Affairs (NC)

40) Joseph Utsev: Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation (NC)

41) Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi: Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security (NC)

42) Ibrahim Geidam: Minister of Police Affairs (NE)

43) Tunisia Alausa: Minister of State, Health and Social Welfare (SW)

44) Dele Alake: Minister of Solid Minerals Development (SW)

Also Read:  Uranium, Gold and Other Solid Mineral Resources in Cross River State

45) Zephaniah Jisalo: Minister of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs (NC)

46) Bola Tinubu : Minister of Petroleum Resources.

46) Jamila Bio Ibrahim: Federal Ministry of Youth (NC)

47) Ayodele Olawande: Minister of State for Youth (SW)

Note: Tinubu announced the nomination of Jamial and Ayodele on Sunday, September 17, their names were to be sent to the National Assembly for screening and approval.

When will the Tinubu cabinet be inaugurated?

The 46-member cabinet of Bola Tinubu was inaugurated on Monday, August 21, 2023

“Honourable Ministers to be sworn in are expected to come with two guests each. All Honourable Ministers and guests are to be seated by 9:00 am”.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top