Ministers in Nigeria During Ibrahim Babangida Military Regime (1985-1993)

Last updated on November 23rd, 2021 at 01:43 pm


The excessive use of coercion and selective arrest of civilians during the regime of Major Gen. Muhammadu Buhari led to the downfall of his government. His Chief of Army, the ambitious Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida kicked Buhari and his deputy Maj.-Gen. Tunde Idiagbon out of office through a military coup. 

Although IBB’s coup like every other military was illegitimate, millions of Nigerians who had been praying for the end of the Buhari regime celebrated his ouster on August 27, 1985.

The first thing Babangida did was to add the title of “President” instead of “Head of State” associated with a military leader who came through illegitimate use of the gun.


Second, he constituted his cabinet comprising the civilians and some of his trusted military friends.

The cabinet of Ibrahim Babangida’s military regime had him as the chair, his Chief of General Staff as the deputy of the cabinet.

His regime managed 23 federal ministries between 1985 till 1993 when he said he was stepping aside.

Below is a list of ministers who served under the military junta of Gen Babangida

Ministry Ministers Years in office Remark
Petroleum Tam David-West 1985 to to 1986 David-West was IBB’s major critic after the regime sacked him.
Rilwan Lukman 1986 to 1989
Jibril Aminu 1989 to 1992
Chu Okongwu 1992 to 1993
Trade Gado Nasko 1985 to 1986
Samaila Mamman 1986 to 1989
Senas Ukpanah 1989 to 1992
Agriculture Alani Akinrinade 1985 to 1986
Gado Nasko 1986 to 1989
Samaila Mamman 1989 to 1989
Shettima Mustapha 1989 to 1992
Defense Domkat Bali 1985 to 1990 Sani Abacha indirectly took over power from IBB through another illegitimate interim government constituted by Babangida. Abacha died in office July, 1998. His cause of death remains unknown.
Sani Abacha 1990 to 1993
Education Jibril Aminu 1985 to 1990 The ministry of education was headed by two most fantastic men
Babs Fafunwa 1990 to 1992
Industry Bunu Sheriff Musa 1985 to 1986
Alani Akinrinade 1986 to 1989
Mohammed Yahaya 1989 to 1991
Finance Ministry Chu Okongwu 1986 to 1990
Olu Falae 1990 to 1990
Abubakar Alhaji 1990 to 1993
Communications Tanko Ayuba 1985 to 1987 David Mark, a retired army general later became president of the senate after the end of military rule in Nigeria
David Mark 1987 to 1990
Olawale Ige 1990 to 1992
External Affairs it’s now called Ministry of Foreign Affairs Bolaji Akinyemi 1985 to 1987 The the time of Bolaji Akinyemi as the Foreign Affairs minister, Nigeria had a clear foreign policy though it was during a military junta
Ike Nwachukwu 1987 to 1989
Rilwan Lukman 1989 to 1990
Ike Nwachukwu 1990 to 1993
Mines and Power Tam David-West 1986 to 1986 This ministry was divided into two: 1) Ministry of Mine and Steel, 2) Ministry of Power
Bunu Sheriff Musa 1986 to 1989
Nura Imam 1989 to 1991
Works and Housing Hamza Abdullahi 1985 to 19876
Abubakar Umar 1986 to 1988
Mamman Kontagora 1988 to 1993
Sports and Youth Ahmed Abdullahi 1985 to 1986
Bayo Lawal 1986 to 1989
Anthony Ikhazoboh 1990 to 1991
Y.Y. Kure 1991 to 1992
Aviation Anthony Okpere 1987 to 1989
Alabo Graham Douglas 1989 to 1992
Health Olikoye Ransome-Kuti 1985 to 1992 He was minister of health until he joined the World Health Organization as the Deputy Director-General in 1992
Internal Affairs (Ministry of Interior) John Shagaya 1985 to 1990
Lamba Gwom 1990 to 1990
Bagudu Mamman 1990 to 1992
Tunji Olagunju 1992 to 1993
Justice Bola Ajibola 1985 to 1992
Clement Akpamgbo 1992 to 1993
Information Anthony Ukpo 1985 to 1986
Tony Momoh 1986 to 1990
Alex Akinyele 1990 to 1991
Budget and Planning Kalu Idika Kalu 1985 to 1988
Abubakar Alhaji 1988 to 1990
Chu Okongwu 1990 to 1992
Transport Jeremiah Useni 1985 to 1988
Kalu I Kalu 1988 to 1989
Alani Akinrinade 1989 to 1990
Lamba Gwon 1990 to 1992
Special Duties Aboyi Shekari 1986 to 1989
Hamza Abdullahi 1989 to 1990
Science and Technology Emmanuel Emovon 1985 to 1989
Gordian Ezekwe 1989 to 1992
Employment and Labour Patrick Koshoni 1985 to 1986
Ike Nwachukwu 1986 to 1987
Abubakar Umar 1988 to 1990
Bunu Sheriff Musa 1990 to 1992
Federal Capital Territory Mamman Vatsa 1985-1986 Vatsa was accused of planning a coup against the government of Babangida and found guilty by the military tribunal, he was executed on March 5, 1986
Hamza Abdullahi 1986-1989
Gado Nasko 1989-1993
No of ministries during the Babangida military regime 23 ministries
Also Read:  Local Government Areas in Adamawa State

NOTE: Babangida regime conducted 1993 presidential election which was won by the Chief Moshood Kashimalo Olawale Abiola of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), but the election was annulled by the IBB’s military regime. The election was adjudged free and fair.

Instead, Babangida inaugurated an Interim Government that had no defined mandate. It was headed by Ernest Shonekan, who Sani Abacha forced to sign an undertaking in a palace coup on November 17, 1993.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top