Inspector General of Police in Nigeria from 1964 till date (UPDATED)

Last Updated on January 16, 2019 by Ope Quadri

With the appointment of AIG Abubakar Adamu Mohammed Lafia as the acting Inspector General of Police by President Muhammadu Buhari and his decoration on January 15, 2019, it brings to a total number of 20 IGPs since Nigerians started heading the force from 1964 till date.

AIG Abubakar Adamu Mohammed replaces IGP Ibrahim Idris, who assumed office in 2016 after the retirement of Sololon Arase.

Idris officially pulled out of the service on Tuesday, January 15, 2019, having spent 35 years in service.

Mohammed is currently a directing staff member at the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru, near Jos, Plateau State.

With the new appointment, below is the list of past Inspector General of Police in Nigeria from 1964 till 2019.


Past Inspector General of Police in Nigeria Period in Office
IGP Louis Edet 1964–1966
IGP Kam Salem 1966–1975
IGP Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu 1975–1979
IGP Adamu Suleiman 1979–1981
IGP Sunday Adewusi 1981–1983
IGP Etim Inyang 1985–1986
IGP Muhammadu Gambo-Jimeta 1986–1990
IGP Aliyu Atta 1990–1993
IGP Ibrahim Coomassie 1993–1999
IGP Musiliu Smith 1999–2002
IGP Mustafa Adebayo Balogun 2002 – 2005
IGP Sunday Ehindero 2005–2007
IGP Mike Mbama Okiro 2007–2009
IGP Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo 2009 – 2010
IGP Hafiz Ringim 2010 – 2012
IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubarkar 2012 – 2014
IGP Suleiman Abba 2014 -2015
IGP Solomon E. Arase 2015 – 2016
IGP Ibrahim Idris 2016-January 15, 2019

IGP Abubakar Mohammed Adamu: January 15, 2019 till date

This list shall be updated as we IGP pulls out and new one in.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

And get notified everytime we publish a new blog post.