Countries in Oceania and Their Currency

14 Countries in Oceania and Their Currency

Last updated on May 4th, 2022 at 09:07 pm


Also known as Australia, Oceania is one of the seven continents in the world. It is subdivided into four which include Micronesia, Polynesia, Melanesia, and Australasia.

One of the unique things about Oceania is that it is a destination for thousands of Islands, most of the Islands are concentrated in the Central and South Pacific Ocean.

According to 2018 statistics, the Island-lucked continent has a population of 41,570,842. And in terms of land area, it is Oceania is the smallest continent.


It covers 8,525,989 square kilometres, spanning the Eastern and Western Hemispheres.

It is imperative to add that Australia/Oceania is also the flattest continent. Most of the people in Oceania live in cities along the coasts.

The continent is the house of the kangaroo, the koala, the platypus, and many other unusual animals that are scarcely available in other continents of the world.

Australia has the largest economy in Oceania. The Australian Dollar is the fifth most traded currency in the global market. New Zealand has the second-largest economy in that continent and followed by Papua New Guinea.

How many countries are in Oceania/Australia continent?

There are 14 countries in Oceania with 26 dependent territories. The countries and their currency are:

AustraliaAustralian Dollar (AUD) strongest currency in OceaniaAustralasia
FijiFijian Dollar (FJD)Melanesia
KiribatiKiribati Dollar and AUDMicronesia
Marshall IslandsUS DollarMicronesia
MicronesiaUS DollarMicronesia
New ZealandNew Zealand DollarAustralasia
PalauUS DollarMicronesia
Papua New GuineaPapua New Guinea kina (PGK)Melanesia
SamoaSamoa Tala (WST)Polynesia
Solomon IslandsSolomon Islands Dollar (SBD)Melanesia
TongaTonga Pa’anga (TOP)Polynesia
TuvaluTuvalu dollar and AUDPolynesia
VanuatuVanuatu Vatu (VUV)Melanesia

There are five countries under Micronesia (the highest); there are four under Melanesia; three under Polynesia while Australasia has just two under the subregion

Also Read:  4 Major Reasons Why Gas is Expensive in California

Dependent territories of Oceania:

There are 26 dependent territories in Oceania/Australia. The territories and their claimants are:

Dependent territoriesClaimants
American SamoaUnited States
Baker IslandUnited States
Cook Islands New Zealand
Ashmore and Cartier IslandsAustralia
French Polynesia France
Howland IslandU.S.
Easter IslandChile
New CaledoniaFrance
Coral Sea Islands Australia
San Andrés and Providencia Colombia
Midway AtollUnited States
Galapagos IslandsEcuador
Norfolk IslandAustralia
Jarvis IslandU.S
NiueNew Zealand
Kingman ReefU.S
Palmyra Atoll U.S
Johnston AtollU.S
Pitcairn IslandsUnited Kingdom
TokelauNew Zealand
West PapuaIndonesia
Wallis and Futuna France
Wake IslandU.S
Northern Mariana Islands U.S


  • Opeyemi Quadri

    Ope is a finance writer and researcher with 10+ years of experience in content creation. His interests cut across decentralized finance, investment, foreign exchange, government policies and politics.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top